Register now to get rid of these ads!

homemade roadster pickup bodies!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by sonofamitch, Jul 22, 2011.

1. sonofamitch

sonofamitch

I have a '28 essex cowl rottin away in my backyard and Iv been dreaming about building a roadster pickup for a while now. I was just wondering if anyone has ever built a body from scratch. I have tried searching but nothing really comes up. If anybody has done this I would like to see some pictures. Thanks

-Dave

2. burnin53

burnin53
    from cuba,n.y.

Yup,and there are some threads already out there on this. I've been putzing with this on and off for a couple years.
    Picture085.jpg Picture106.jpg
    Picture115.jpg 012.jpg
    Picture110.jpg

Last edited: Jul 22, 2011
    earlyford likes this.
  3. Giovanni

Giovanni

not a roadster pick up, but search for Pat Pryor's home made model a. Believe he's building a 32 right now.

4. xlr8

xlr8
    from Idaho

You might think about buying the Brookville Model A rear corners and back piece, they aren't really that expensive.

5. A couple of things to think about. Most any panel on a car has some crown to it, if you
    make it out of flat sheet it won't look right. Secondly if you don't rework the cowl to
    use some sort of actual roadster windshield, it will always looked like a hacked off closed car. Neither of these two points are that hard to address when building; but if ignored the result will be less than you expected. Plan it out and go for it.

6. 66gmc

66gmc

Im in the process of building a 29 roadster pickup, I started with a roadster cowl and built the doors and rear cab section. I bought a shrinker/stretcher for making the door skins and 1/4 panels, the rest was done using basic hand tools. 28-29 model A rpus are the easiest to build because the back of the cab is squared off.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]