Register now to get rid of these ads!

Homemade glass body?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Chris P, Apr 23, 2008.

1. Chris P

Chris P
    from Tucson

Heres the story, a buddy of mine has a speed sport glass body. I guess it would be based off of a Model T touring? I want to make a copy of the body would it be possible to use his body a a mold and lay new glass and resin right over it? I have never used fiberglass before and have a lot to learn. Mabey some of you guys could give me some pointers.
    [​IMG]

-Chris

2. jusjunk

jusjunk
    BANNED
    from Michigan

Your mold has to be made over that body then you make a body in your mold.. outside to inside inside to outside .. get it ?
    Dave

3. murf-lostincity

murf-lostincity

you might consider getting a body from where your buddy got his from.
    Cuz you run the risk of of just wasting your Monet and his body if you don't do things right especially if you just want one body.
    Fiberglass gets kinda tricky at times, first you should try making a mold outta something else for practice, then if confident you should go for it.

4. murf-lostincity

murf-lostincity

you might consider getting a body from where your buddy got his from.
    Cuz you run the risk of of just wasting your Monet and his body if you don't do things right especially if you just want one body.
    Fiberglass gets kinda tricky at times, first you should try making a mold outta something else for practice, then if confident you should go for it.

5. Jeem

Jeem
    Alliance Vendor

I agree. My limited experience tells me that many cool things are possible with 'glass but damn, the whole process can be really frustrating and MESSY! Do yourself and your buddie's T body a favor, and practice a LOT first!!

6. ALindustrial

ALindustrial