Register now to get rid of these ads!

Home powder coating expert, I have questions ?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Ayers Garage, Jan 6, 2009.

1. Ayers Garage

Ayers Garage

I ordered an Eastwood powder coating gun today.

My question concerns the oven. I will get an old dedicated garage oven for curing the powder. But, would a smaller toaster oven work too for smaller parts ? I figured this would save heating the big oven up all the time for little brackets and pulleys and the like.

Second, can I powdercoat something in stages assuming I masked it properly ? Say for example, do the back of a wheel, then after it's cured and cool, shoot the front and bake it again to cure the front.

Thank you,
    Kevin

2. bustedlifter

bustedlifter

I use a pretty good size toaster oven, that I bought at the local Restore for $15.00, for small parts and it works great! I'm not an expert , by any stretch, but I think that biggest problem in stages would be the masking.

3. I got the craftsaman setup and bought a used $20 full size electric oven of craigslist. I wait to do a whole batch so the toaster oven was out of the question for me. I have done coating in stages though, and black and clear seem to come out fine, but when using the colors or the chrome ( with or without clear over it) they sometimes tend to "mismatch" in color, although it is very slightly. Probably has something to do with the thickness of application or technique, but none the less it is noticeable.

4. M_S

M_S
    from SoCal

Instead of masking parts, I use the foam tipped 'paint brushes' that you find and the local home center and dip them in water to remove powder from the areas I don't want covered. For instance, you can coat and bake a finned valve cover with one step chrome and after it has cooled, powder it with black, use the brushes to clean the fins and expose the chrome powder.

Hope that made sense.

5. Arizona Geezer

Arizona Geezer