Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Hollow steering shaft question

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by TA DAD, Sep 14, 2018.

1. TA DAD

TA DAD
    from NC

I ground this 3/4 inch hollow steering shaft down to a double d, as you can see that won't work. I have to install a u-joint at the box and it needs to be removable. I could fill the center of the shaft with a piece of 1/2 stock and weld it at the top and the bottom and maybe put a plug weld in also. Any thoughts ? 004.JPG 008.JPG 009.JPG 004.JPG

2. Mike VV

Mike VV
    from SoCal

As an Aerospace Test Engineer, my first inclination is, it's not worth the chance... The load is still mostly on the outer tube.
    How heavy is the car (front of the car) ? How wide are the front tires ?

Mike

clem likes this.
  3. fiftyv8

fiftyv8
    from CO & WA

As a hot rodder, I'd say you have plenty of potential to make it work if you have the ability and think it thru.
    Your idea of installing a piece of solid pressed in to the center hole is a good one, but you will need to consider say adding a little weld and/or a pin of two.
    This is not impossible to fix, it just requires the right solution...
    Take it slow and easy and see if any more ideas come in from our brains trust out there...

4. Marty Strode

Marty Strode

I would take a piece of 3/4 DD shaft and machine it down to slip in your worm gear, and weld it together. You should be able to insert the piece 3/4" and plug weld that as well.

5. TA DAD

TA DAD
    from NC

It is a straight axle 1/2 ton 47 Studebaker truck. I do not have any weights for it. SBC the motor is behind the front axle for the most part. It will have 75 or 78 series tires on the front.

6. TA DAD

TA DAD
    from NC

I like the idea of the pins , I had not thought of that. I could put a couple pins in the center and weld it at each end .

7. TA DAD

TA DAD
    from NC