Register now to get rid of these ads!

HOK paint question!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by hotrod-kenny, Apr 15, 2010.

1. hotrod-kenny

hotrod-kenny

Hi I'am thinking about using house of kolor's shimrin metallic base, has anyone tried adding a catalyst to it making it a satin 2k paint? will that work?

my reason for doing this would be to save money by skipping the clear. The paint is 200Dollar per Quart over here...........

Last edited: Apr 15, 2010
  2. 57JoeFoMoPar

57JoeFoMoPar

I'm no paint expert by any stretch, but that doesn't make any sense to me. The basecoat formula is drying by the solvents evaporating from the mix, not by some catalyzed chemical reaction. The clear coat dries hard by an actual chemical reaction. You can't just add catalyst to the base coat and expect it to dry like a clear, it's two totally separate formulas.

HOK is the finest stuff around though, and my own personal choice as well. I don't get it though, you're trying to save money but you're using HOK? That's like buying a Maserati and bitching about the fuel milage.

3. SlowandLow63

SlowandLow63
    from Central NJ

What are you trying to accomplish here? You like a certain HOK base and want it satin? The only (right) way to do it is to clear with a flattened clear. HOK makes a flattening agent designed for their clears.

4. pimpin paint

pimpin paint
    from so cal

Hey,

HOK doesn't recomend the addition of a catalyst to the Shimrin Metalic Bases.The addition of a catalyst to the Shimrin Base colour would turn your "satin" finish to a semi glossy one.
    There isn't a good & cheap way to produce a satin finish that's long lived.
    Without the addition of a clearcoat, they stain easily and won't weather well.

" Humpty Dumpty was pushed "

5. HighSpeed LowDrag

HighSpeed LowDrag
    from Houston

Totally agree although I really like HOK colors under a nice clear coat. Nothing quite like them really.

6. chopolds

chopolds
    from howell, nj