Register now to get rid of these ads!

History History- Some Know it, Some Think They Know It!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Robert J. Palmer, Jan 16, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I am a student of all forms of history and it always amazes me how people only see or know a very limited part of hot rod, racing or just general history.

I was at a meeting the other day and someone brought up the subject of the big block Chevy, and that it did not belong in a traditional hot rod show because it did not come out until 1965.
    I said "Yes, Chevrolet did not come out with the street big block until 1965. However the base of this engine is the Mark II Mystery Motor that Chevrolet took to Daytona in 1963 for the 500."
    Ford said "They would sit out if Chevrolet was allowed to run this engine, so N.A.$.C.A.R. banned it, causing Chevy to sit out"
    The man swore up hill and down I was wrong!

This is not the first time I have something like this happen. My mom sent some photos to my car clubs Fartbook page of Dan Gurney with his 32 five window, the 1966 Indy car, and Gurney Westlake heads reading "God speed Dan Gurney" some people wrote back "I didn't know he was a hot rodder"

I think some of us need to be less focused on just a small part of our history and take a good hard look at all of it!!

-Robert J. Palmer

Last edited: Jan 17, 2018
  2. people's lack of history knowledge is not only confined to hot rods , i'm constantly amazed by the general populations misunderstanding of world events and history

3. waldo53

waldo53
    from ID

Maybe I'm misinformed, but I always thought the first Chevy big block was the 348 (forerunner of the 409) that came out in 1958.

4. Petejoe

Petejoe
    from Zoar, Ohio

Very good point Robert.
    I am still learning , and as everyone else, forming my own opinion, based on MY knowledge.
    Human nature. For a young man your very mature.