Register now to get rid of these ads!

hi from texas

Discussion in 'New to the H.A.M.B.? Introduce yourself here!' started by 210Spencer, May 14, 2010.

1. 210Spencer

210Spencer

Hey all. I'm an aircraft mechanic, mostly vintage repair and restoration for museums and private collections. I also run a shop working on mostly european bikes & cars.
    My projects skimmed down to the pertinent one to this site is a 1954 Packard Clipper I picked up about five or six years ago. The car was on her last leg and looking at getting chopped up so I picked it up for near nothing. I painted it within a few weeks of buying her then put it at the back of the shop for a few years and now I found it time pull her out and get it back on the road.
    I'm going with a SBC for now as I put together the money and ideas for a forced induction straight eight.

2. 29Jay

29Jay
    from Ft Worth

Welcome fellow Texan!

3. Welcome from New Zealand. I live a couple of miles from one of our local Warbirds branches and usually get to see a free airshow at weekends. Vintage aircraft is quite popular over here and we've got companies that restore planes for customers from all over the world.

I love the idea of a blown straight-eight; supercharger or turbo? With your vintage aircraft experience, both apply (I had a friend when I lived in CA named John Burgess who did a lot of experimentation with forced induction on aircraft engines back in WWII.).

Last edited: May 14, 2010
  4. Welcome from Austin. You'll find plenty of good advice and assistance on this site. You won't believe the depth of knowledge here until you've been here a while.

5. mauler rich

mauler rich

welcome from Wilmington NC

6. Welcom from Dolittle,Texas

7. wino01

wino01

Welcome from New Waverly.

8. Welcome from Arkansas...

9. fxfxr

fxfxr
    from eureka, ca

welcome from Cal

10. tromper

tromper

Welcome from Irving TX!

11. fraso

fraso

12. 210Spencer

210Spencer

Thanks all.