Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hey Old Farts,it,s time to learn CAD.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by tmfcracing, Dec 17, 2011.

1. tmfcracing

tmfcracing
    from Sweden

Hi Folks,
    It,s soon 2012 and there is solutions today for making bracket,flanges etc.
    in a better way then with that old grinder you find on a swap-meet 20 years ago.

I run a waterjet for a living and I often get the question from my customers if there is any less expensive cad program out there that they also can learn without to much effort so they can do there own drawings.

I search it and found this :
    http://www.3ds.com/products/draftsight/download-draftsight/

Its free and after downloading it they ask for a email adress, they will send comercial adds to it. Use a junk adress :)

Very easy to learn and there is even lessons on youtube for it,.
    Use this thread to ask questions and help eachother out here.

If you spend some evenings struggeling with this program you will very soon sending drawings to your local water/lazer cutter and get some awsome parts for you ride.

Maybe there is local HAMB,ers here that works with cutting that can help you out making parts out of your drawings.

/Martin

2. The37Kid

The37Kid

Thanks, but I'm still trying to figure out how to use a cell phone. Cost of water jetting one or two parts sure must cost more that making them at home.

3. Thats cool iwaslooking for something like this quite a while now.

4. langy

langy
    Member Emeritus

Thanks for that Martin, I've been looking to learn that stuff, It will save me badgering my mate to draw stuff for me.

Cheers
    Steve.

5. I was wondering the same thing. What are the economics of having single or pairs of parts cut?

6. go-twichy

go-twichy
    BANNED

i like your moxie young man!

7. tmfcracing

tmfcracing
    from Sweden

Thank you Go-Twichy ;)

8. tmfcracing

tmfcracing
    from Sweden