Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hey metalshapers! Please help w/ '32 rear quarter?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by slepe67, May 1, 2011.

1. slepe67

slepe67

First off, I think it's going to be necessary to explain that I have ZERO body experience. I have a decent set of body hammers and dollies, but don't know how to use them, and am still learning the basics, such as the difference between the terms shrinking and stretching, so please forgive the dumb questions.

I've recently scored a pretty nice '32 5W. It was a former low boy, bobber fenders welded onto rear quarters. In the link below, titled "Post #1", you can see the worst of the two sides. It's stretched and shrunk. I was THINKING about cutting out about an inch on each side of the line (top to bottom) where the fender was welded on, and cutting it out in 6 inch long (or so) sections and replace as I go. What say you?

Post #1 (fourth picture)
    http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=576720

In this post, you can see the large dent I tried to remove today, with limited success. BEFORE pic is Post #93, the AFTER pic is Post # 95. I've been told by F&J that I might want to use a wooden dolly for this? What would be the best course of action for removing a dent such as this?

Post #93
    http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=576720&page=5

Anyways, enough rambling. Thanks for the help. JL

2. I would lay the outer edge on a shot bag (sand bag) and hit the inner edge of the belt line out with a lump of soft wood, get it close to the shape is meant to be. I made a dolly from round bar to get up into that belt line, so maybe try making one with a handle and start to try and tap it back into shape.

Thats what I would do, wrong or right......the secret is to know to stop if its not working :)

3. KrisKustomPaint

KrisKustomPaint