Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hemi to Chev distributor adapter

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by TDWZ28, Aug 26, 2010.

  1. TDWZ28
    Joined: Sep 18, 2007
    Posts: 152

    TDWZ28
    Member
    from Michigan

    Anyone ever use the adapter that Hot Heads sells for installing a Chev dist in a 392 hemi? Any pros and cons to using it? I am looking at options for my engine. I want to use a point style dist. I have some for chev already set-up.
    Thanks.
     
  2. GMC BUBBA
    Joined: Jun 15, 2006
    Posts: 3,385

    GMC BUBBA
    Member

    I havent used it yet but i bought one and plan on using it with a vertex mag ( chevrolet) on a blown hemi. Looks realy good so far, nice quality and makes sense to me..
     
  3. I was going to..but I just came across a NOS Vertex Magneto, with plug wires, that I just bought off Craigslist. Can't wait to get it....
     
  4. deucegasser
    Joined: Jul 16, 2006
    Posts: 288

    deucegasser
    Member

    I bought one. Jacks the dist. up kinda high. Had my buddy machine the vertex(chev.) base to fit the hemi.
     

  5. Demon Seed
    Joined: Feb 2, 2009
    Posts: 106

    Demon Seed
    Member
    from BF-AZ

    Hotheads also sells a longer intermediate shaft which allows the use of a stock small block Mopar distributor, points or electronic and it sits at stock height.
     
  6. fab32
    Joined: May 14, 2002
    Posts: 13,985

    fab32
    Member Emeritus

    Go for it. Any time you an adapt Chevy stuff to any "foreign" brand engine you've taken a step UP.:cool::D

    Frank
     
  7. lets see some pic's guys!!
     
  8. RodStRace
    Joined: Dec 7, 2007
    Posts: 2,650

    RodStRace
    Member

  9. Seriously guys? Just my opinion but what part of ugly don't you get?

    I converted a SBC supermag but it wasn't hot enough for what I wanted. Check it out here.

    http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=279829&highlight=supermag+hemi

    And has been stated a SBM distributor will fit directly with very little fiddling if you have to.

    On my blown 354 in the coupe I used the stock dual point to trigger a Mallory Hyfire box for a while but stuck a Pertronix in to resolve a persistant breaker plate grounding issue.
     
  10. TDWZ28
    Joined: Sep 18, 2007
    Posts: 152

    TDWZ28
    Member
    from Michigan

    Thanks for the replies. I'll look into the SBM one too.
     
  11. Demon Seed
    Joined: Feb 2, 2009
    Posts: 106

    Demon Seed
    Member
    from BF-AZ

    Here's a stock small block Mopar electronic unit on my 331. There's two ways to do this. You can modify the lower shaft of the distributor using a Hotheads kit or use their longer intermediate shaft. Either works just fine but the longer intermediate shaft is less hastle if you ever want to change the distributor. With that any SBM distributor, stock or aftermarket will slip right in.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. t2dfyre
    Joined: Jul 19, 2010
    Posts: 77

    t2dfyre
    Member

    So what did you ended up using on your 331?? The interm shaft or the adapter?
     
  13. Oldskool56
    Joined: Feb 27, 2011
    Posts: 19

    Oldskool56
    Member

    deucegasser is right, it puts the dist to high and can cause some clearance issues on the firewall. I didnt like the fit either and sent it back to HH and got the MSD drop in version for my 392. They are very good people to deal with.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.