Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Hemi A Coupe Made in New Zealand

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by ratman, Jan 2, 2015.

1. ratman

ratman

This project has been underway for about a year to date, Most of the time has been spent gathering parts and trying to maintain a focus on what we want when its finished.
    I've sold two other cars to fund it and worked a shit load of over time in the past four years to cover the cost, I pretty much have everything to build the car now.
    I'm a fitter turner machinist by trade and I am lucky enough to have access to every type of machine I need to accomplish the build so while I have that opportunity I will be trying hard to do something decent.
    I wasn't sure which category to put the thread under but I guess that will be sorted by the mod squad.

Here's the scope:
    1931 Model A Coupe 4 1/2" roof chop
    32 Ford Chassis
    32 Ford Grill
    Hood top only
    276 Desoto Hemi with 4 Stromberg 97s a top a Vintage Speed manifold 1.JPG 1.JPG IMG_2149.JPG
    727 Torque flight ( I know real hot rods have 3 pedals, Yeah I'm old and lazy)
    Socal 4" dropped front axle
    Hair pins
    Winters V8 quick change
    16 x 5 Halibrand style wheels all round
    Excelsior Stahl Sport Tyres 750 at the rear with 560 up front

My pet hate is polishing, but yes its going to have a shit load of shiny stuff.

Here's some pictures, Most of the shiny stuff you see at the moment is 316 Stainless steel including the chassis centre section.
    I will update as things progress

Cheers
    Peter

Attached Files:

Last edited: Oct 20, 2016
    tofords, Stogy, flyingbrick and 4 others like this.
  2. Martin Harris

Martin Harris

Nice work, my man. I'm a NZ rodder too.