Register now to get rid of these ads!

Help with Oilcanning

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by K13, Sep 24, 2011.

1. I have a section on my hood that is oilcanning and need to figure out how to correct the problem. I am not quite sure if it needs to be shrunk or stretched. In the picture below the area marked with the 1 is slightly low but doesn't move. The circled area marked with a 2 is low. The area marked with the X is at the correct height but if I push on it the area marked with the 2 moves up as the area I push on moves down.The rest of the hood seems to be fine just these couple of spots. Any advice as to where to shrink or stretch would be appreciated.

[​IMG]

2. gotit

gotit

I am no expert but I'd say its the weld seam to the right

3. Gearhead Graphics

Gearhead Graphics
    from Denver Co

My thought would be to shrink the low #2 spot, and then push them both up. But I'm far from the body expert.

4. Black Primer

Black Primer

If its already a low, shrinking won't bring it back up. Oil canning is tuff. Hopefully one of the experts will chime in. Good luck, You'll get it just another obstacle.

5. mgtstumpy

mgtstumpy

A trick they taught us at college many years ago is to use a stick of brass in the stick welder and drag it across the panel. As it arcs it draws the metal in and tightens the panel. It does work however I haven't tried it for many years.

6. I would have as well but the problem was there before the welded seam and I wasn't smart enough to take care of it before hand. It didn't really seem to make it any worse.

7. fleet-master

fleet-master

when did it start oil.canning? generally speaking if it was after welding then you need to stretch the weld back out by hammering on-dolly. you can hammer out to the edge of the 'blued' area but stay mainly on the weld.