Register now to get rid of these ads!

Harbor Freight TIG welder

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by narducci, Mar 24, 2008.

1. narducci

narducci

I hear a lot of negatives about the HF TIG welder. I bought one about 3 months ago and want to report positives on it.
    I am not a TIG expert by any means and its been 20 years since I did any TIG work.
    I havent had any problems with this unit, I was worried about the duty cycle but it has never kicked out on me yet.
    I have welded 4 x 2 x 3/16 wall tubing for the frame and 18 ga body panels.
    I wasn't expecting much when I bought this but I am pleasantly surprised.
    Just my 2c
    Building the rod in Decatur, AL

2. Give us your oppinions on it a year or 2 from now when it is burned up or you can't get parts/consumables for it.

3. Bort62

Bort62
    BANNED

Who Cares? It costs 200 bucks and you can buy a 3 year waranty for it for like 20. If it shits out on you after 3 years drop 200 more and buy another.

If you aren't welding every day and don't want to make a lifelong investment - it's perfect. As long as it works ok.

4. narducci

narducci

Thats what I say, I paid $ 160 for mine
    Comsumables that fit an ESAB 120 volt portable ( $ 1200 ) are a direct replacement, Ive already used some

5. UnIOnViLLEHauNT

UnIOnViLLEHauNT

Ive heard the same thing, nothing but praise about it. Anyone have a link or work they have done with it?

6. Bigblock351w

Bigblock351w
    BANNED

WELL its about god damn time the harbor freight produced somthing that
    dosent blow ass

7. tdoty

tdoty

Figures.........I talked myself out of buying one a few hours ago.

My HF MIG is going on 3 years old, with ZERO problems. But, I just couldn't quite talk myself into the TIG. Maybe next time it's on sale?

Tim D.

8. Noland

Noland