Register now to get rid of these ads!

HAMB Tires

Discussion in 'HA/GR' started by ThingyM, Feb 26, 2007.

1. ThingyM

ThingyM

Last Saturday I went to see my tire dealer. I told him I needed a couple of G78X15s bias ply tires..$128 ea.. He said that I could get a later version of the Bias ply at 1/2 the cost. And it would be the 6" wide tread as needed.. So my question is,, Is the later version acceptable???? No its not a radial,,,,,,,,,,

2. I'm no expert but I would say according to rule 20, you would be aokeedokee.

20. Cars must have rims no wider than 6″ and only bias ply street treaded tires allowed. No radials, slicks, or cheater slicks allowed. Tire tread width must measure no more than 6″.

3. Mr. Mac

Mr. Mac

Go for it Thingy,they would pass my tech.:)

4. mudflap261

mudflap261
    from tulsa

rule 20 works for me wonder what the difference is that would make them 1/2 cost mudflap261 one of the Hornets

5. Rand Man

Rand Man

It's the wide white vs. thin white wall, supply and demand thing. I think most racers back then would have run black walls.

I'd like it if we all agreed to run a 6" wide pie crust slick. The ones they're capping now are a highway compound. Not very sticky, but they'ed really set off the look.

6. GMC BUBBA

GMC BUBBA
    Member Emeritus

I am kinda surprized someone hasnt recapped a couple old skins with some Atlas butron or plyron. They were the ultimate once upon a time??:confused:

7. "Doc" Parsons

"Doc" Parsons

8. Ron Golden

Ron Golden

From a safety standpoint I think we should be allowed to run a radial
    tire that has a speed rating equal to, or higher, than the actual speed we will be running. Nostalgia is fine but I don't think we should endanger the drivers, crew and spectators just to look exactly "right". I for one don't relish the thought of blowing a tire that was designed decades ago when I'm doing 100+ MPH.

Ron

Ron

9. Godzilla

Godzilla