Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical GPS

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by PHIL COOPY, Jan 24, 2018.

  1. PHIL COOPY
    Joined: Jul 20, 2016
    Posts: 409

    PHIL COOPY
    Member Emeritus

    Are any of you guys using a GPS speed sensor with your speedometer. If they are reliable it would sure make things easier for me and my 39 transmission. I know the GPS speed in my Ford Flex is accurate and always works.

    Phil
     
  2. Gearhead Graphics
    Joined: Oct 4, 2008
    Posts: 3,604

    Gearhead Graphics
    Member
    from Denver Co

    I use one. I really like it. make sure your GPS is compatible with your speedometer. I had one that wasn't and fought calibrating it forever.
    Now I've got the correct one from Speedway, I have it in my cab, under my dash, and it picks up signal no problem.
    Its a bit slow at catching up when I stand on it, but I can live with that
     
  3. trollst
    Joined: Jan 27, 2012
    Posts: 1,781

    trollst
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    I have a gps speedo in my 27, it's an autometer , but it works well and solves some issues with cable and calibration. Go for it.
     
  4. KoolKat-57
    Joined: Feb 22, 2010
    Posts: 2,982

    KoolKat-57
    Member
    from Dublin, OH

    I have a Stewart Warner electronic speedometer with a GPS sending unit from Summit.
    The 2 units were easy to setup and only take a minute or two to get the signal and start working.
    Checked against a police radar and it was dead on! (don't ask)
    KK
     

  5. 41fastback
    Joined: Sep 25, 2005
    Posts: 341

    41fastback
    Member

    What GPS unit was that? I have a SW electric speedo.
     
  6. F.O.G
    Joined: Oct 31, 2006
    Posts: 259

    F.O.G
    Member
    from Pacific,Mo

    I use a speedo app on my phone, FREE and accurate. Used it to mark my tach for speeds.
     
    flynbrian48 and dana barlow like this.
  7. TagMan
    Joined: Dec 12, 2002
    Posts: 6,048

    TagMan
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    I use the speedometer on the Waze app on my phone Works great!
     
  8. dana barlow
    Joined: May 30, 2006
    Posts: 4,040

    dana barlow
    Member
    from Miami Fla.
    1. Y-blocks

    I had built in 59 ,an still have 1928 "A" roadster I put a V8 y-block ford in with the 3speed std. tranny,at that time,I didn't hook up the speed-O. But by 1960,I desided I would like a way to tell my speed,so made small marks on my tach face rim with paint,by rpm=that were at 30 mph,40mph,50mph,60,70mph } was found by a buddy running in front an holding speeds tell I added tape pointer temp to tach rim. { we had no GPS . Old school !worked.
     
  9. k32t
    Joined: Jan 2, 2011
    Posts: 292

    k32t
    Member
    from Hog town

    I've had a hand held GPS for camping and fishing marks the speed perfectly.
     
  10. The 39 guy
    Joined: Nov 5, 2010
    Posts: 2,873

    The 39 guy
    Member

    I have a SW Electronic Speedo with a Speedway GPS sender in my coupe. Works great most of the time. Occasionally it will just quit working for awhile and then return to service the next time I start the car or just start on it's own. I assume this is a satellite thing.I put my GPS sender on the rear bumper.
     
  11. Blues4U
    Joined: Oct 1, 2015
    Posts: 4,871

    Blues4U
    Member
    from So Cal

    I have an old Garmin GPS unit that was no longer being used that I stuck on the windshield with one of those suction cup holders, and hard wired the unit to the hot side of the key so it comes on whenever I start it up. It's been stuck on there so long I expect the rubber of the suction cup has melded into the glass and won't ever come off, haha! The maps are out of date, but I still use it occasionally to get directions someplace, or to find a restaurant or gas. But mainly I use it for the speedometer function, and for keeping track of my mileage inbetween fillups, as I don't have a functioning gas gauge either. I just reset the trip meter each time I fill up, and I know I have about 100 miles stop & go driving, about 130 - 150 highway driving, and then I need to get gas. So far I haven't run out since I started keeping track like that.
     
    pat59 and Hnstray like this.
  12. deucemac
    Joined: Aug 31, 2008
    Posts: 1,066

    deucemac
    Member

    I am using a Classic Skydrive GPS unit and it works quite well. I have a Stewart Warner Deluxe electric speedometer and it doesn't work well at all. Stewart Warner tech hell is useless. I had a long talk with the reps AT SEMA in 2015 that swore I wired it wrong (which I did not). They just walked off. SEMA 2016 had 2 different engineers that really acted as though they wanted to help. I sent back my first speedometer and they replaced it. The second one had the odometer quit at 100 miles, when I called to tell them about failure on number 2, I was told to rap sharply on the bezel while driving. High tech repair! I did so every 100 miles until it finally quit at 300 miles. Total mileage during this time figured out to be roughly 1500. The speedometer itself continues to operate unlike the first that decided to read right, jump around from 0 to 120 at times of its choosing or flop back to zero for a while until ready to go again. The crazyness started a 4k miles and remand like that until 6100 miles when the odometer decide to join the speedometer in death. At first I thought that perhaps the GPS unit was the problem. Classic techs worked with me in diagnosing the problem and came to the same conclusion I did. Stewart Warner built junk. I talked to yet 2 new reps at SEMA this year and they took all my information promising to "get back to me" right after the show. Today is late January and no contact from either one of them and calling the number on the business cards given to me in November are not answered or returned. So I spoke to Classic Inst. and they will be happy to make a speedometer with the same font and colors except my initials in the same size and script as S W. For about the same money AND guarantee it for 7 years! It is sad because I have used Stewart Warner since 1962 and considered them the standard in gauges. The rest of the gauges in my panel were left over units from 1989 when I closed up my speed shop and they perform well. But not the newer stuff that is foreign built.
     
    robracer1 likes this.
  13. Kiwi 4d
    Joined: Sep 16, 2006
    Posts: 2,838

    Kiwi 4d
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    I know this is OT from OP ,but "stupid warner" made in Mexico junk. First speedo the odometer didn't move at all for 1000 mls. Was sent a replacement , well that was worse. The odometer stopped at 440 while trying to drop the 4 and 0 down together instead of the 1.
    The speedo goes to 62mph the flicks off the clock till we get to 15mph then back to normal.
    Nope no more "stupid warner" for me.
    Just dismantled the whole dash and pulled it all out for the 3rd time and sent both to a local reputable repair shop. Only a 3hr job to get it out let alone put it back.
    I have a cable X in one car and a bitch to set works perfect. Have used cable x before in other cars and had no issues. Auto meter in another car perfect.
    We have a classic sky drive ready to test for another car. look forward to the gps unit.
     
    robracer1 likes this.
  14. Happydaze
    Joined: Aug 21, 2009
    Posts: 986

    Happydaze
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    That's useful to know, thanks! I have one for a project and was wondering about placement of the sensor, or whatever it's called. It's a steel cab I hope!

    Chris
     
  15. robracer1
    Joined: Aug 3, 2015
    Posts: 488

    robracer1
    Member

    I went through 3 junk Mexico Stewart Warner speedo's in 6 mounts, I now have Classic Instrument with no more problems.
    If you have to use Mexico made Steward Warner speedo's install with Velcro, makes It a lot easy to replace and replace and replace !
     
    deucemac, caseywheels and Kiwi 4d like this.
  16. Tri-Power
    Joined: Jun 23, 2008
    Posts: 151

    Tri-Power
    Member
    from Memphis

    I have a Speedhut GPS speedo in my 28 steel roadster, never a glitch in 6000 miles. Except for the time the cover came off the GPS sender which I had stuck to the front crossmember. They sent me a new sender at no charge. I stuffed it under the dash, works fine. They can customize your gauge faces as well.
    Plus 1000 on new SW being junk and impossible tech support.
     
    firstinsteele likes this.
  17. Gearhead Graphics
    Joined: Oct 4, 2008
    Posts: 3,604

    Gearhead Graphics
    Member
    from Denver Co

    Yes, very much a steel cab. with plenty of peel-n-seel insulating the roof doors and firewall. I now have the sensor under my steel dash as well. sometimes it takes a block or so to come to and start reading speeds. That's fine, I fought the last one for 3 years attempting to calibrate and moving it all over (even outside onto the hood) only to find out it was incompatable (so much for jegs listing it as universal fit)


     
  18. Dave Mc
    Joined: Mar 8, 2011
    Posts: 2,042

    Dave Mc
    Member

    I have one from " SPEEDHUT" in my 29 PU, works great , sensor is magnetic , IMG_0516.JPG IMG_0523.JPG
     
  19. KoolKat-57
    Joined: Feb 22, 2010
    Posts: 2,982

    KoolKat-57
    Member
    from Dublin, OH

    Intellitronix GPS Speedometer Senders S9020
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    • Click to Enlarge Image
    $109.97

    This is the Summit unit I am using.
    KK
     
  20. My Speedhut Speedo/Tach has been great for 12,000+.

    Ben
     
  21. jimdillon
    Joined: Dec 6, 2005
    Posts: 2,989

    jimdillon
    Member

    I can also attest to Speedhut being very dependable. I have run them in two of my cars for over 4 years. I had a new light switch in my avatar car short out,which caused other issues and long story short the GPS quit working. I sent it back to them per their request and they repaired if for free. I had liked the GPS so well that I bought another for my avatar car and have the repaired one set for my next project. Prior to the Speedhut GPS I chased silly little issues with the off shore speedometer junk made for early Vettes and it was no fun climbing under my dash with regularity.
     
    firstinsteele and lothiandon1940 like this.

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.