Register now to get rid of these ads!

Going Kustom!! 1953 Packard

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by ShortyLaVen, Jul 11, 2013.

1. ShortyLaVen

ShortyLaVen

Some of you may be familiar with my Packard, but I don't think I've posted any pics of it in the last year or so... It's come a long way so far, and its just startin to get good! I figured it was 'bout time for a legit build thread since I've never done one before.

For those that don't know, the beast looked like this when I first acquired her. In this photo I have already mounted the new BFG Silvertowns (which were free! SCORE! til some punk freshmen slashed one the first day I parked in front of my home... wasn't personal, everyone in the neighborhood was hit) You'll have to excuse the poor photo quality, its just the technology of the time:rolleyes:
    [​IMG]

And then after a year or so of work it turned into this, which is how I drove it for the last two years of high school...
    [​IMG]
    And then, my senior year, I repainted it after dropping in the new (to me) motor and getting it rolling again...
    [​IMG]

2. ShortyLaVen

ShortyLaVen

Which brings us to now....
    [​IMG]

This past week I brought her in to class at WyoTech to get some of the good stuff done. Basic plans are to fix a few problem areas, then french the headlights, nose, deck, and fill in some trim holes. I'm thinking of moving around some of the stock trim to clean up the look.
    [​IMG]

So first things first, starting with the front end. I restored the headlight buckets by sand blasting them clean, then hitting them with etch primer and some trim black. Slots were cut in the ends of the adjustment screws and access holes drilled in the back.
    [​IMG]