Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical GMC 302 Rocker Assembly

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by akkhotrod, Mar 27, 2016.

1. akkhotrod

akkhotrod

G'day

I have a GMC 302 however the Head has no Rocker Assembly. There is a GMC 248 Rocker Assembly on the dreaded Ebay at the moment and my question is would this be OK for my 302 head. I am new to these engines and have limited knowledge so will probably have a lot more questions. Can somebody lend me a hand.

Karl

2. Marcia

Marcia

Yes, it will be ok.
    What are you doing with the engine? Street or racing. Most parts interchange between all the GMC inlines.

Last edited: Mar 27, 2016
  3. sunbeam

sunbeam

I think a 302 was the only GMC that had bronze bushings on the rockers but other than that they are the same.

4. jimmy six

jimmy six
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

There are 2 types of stands where the assembly mount to yhe head. A pressed steel type and an aluminum type. I prefer the aluminum ones. If you are building any other than a stock engine I advise you have larger than stock diameter push rods made. Smiths in Oregon and Manton in Az. have done them for me. 5/16" diameter is sufficient..good luck.

5. RichFox

RichFox
    Member Emeritus

That's interesting as I had an aluminum stand brake. After that I stuck with the stamped steel stands. Different strokes.

6. 302GMC

302GMC
    from Idaho

Every old time hop up guide for GMCs tell you to go with the steel stands & stamped rockers on anything even mildly modified. I've never had any wear or breakage problems with either. The stamped type should be easier to find. Tube pushrods are a must.

LOU WELLS likes this.
  7. RichFox

RichFox
    Member Emeritus

Yeah. Well. Tone has put a whole lot of passes on his GMC. If he says aluminum stands work for him, you can take that to the bank. Use the change to buy a book. Are you having new pistons made for the 248? I know I could not use 270 OEM pistons with a 302 head.

8. 302GMC

302GMC