Register now to get rid of these ads!

GM power steering 1956 Fairlane

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by hoop, Jul 8, 2009.

1. hoop

hoop

Looking for inexpensive conversion for GM power steering.

2. JeffreyJames

JeffreyJames
    from SUGAR CITY

I was hoping to use a '56 Caddy power steering unit whit perhaps the '51 Chrysler pump/generator that I have. Not sure if it'll work seeing how I have no experience with them.

Desoto also has a unit that is all inclusive and I think it was available in '53 or '54. Pretty trick piece.

I would love to take a look at what other people have done for power steering to keep it in the era whether it be custom or restoration work.

3. Mark T

Mark T

Some '55-'56 Ford owners use the GM "605" Box but its needs lots of modifications because of its short sector shaft.

Take a look at the 1999-2004 Jeep grand Cherokee steering box, it has a long sector shaft and mounts just like the original Ford box. I've read this is the latest and greatest for the '55-'56 Fords and the '49-'51 Mercs.

Keep in mind that whatever box you choose you will need to modify the steering column and most likely the firewall.

Do a search, this has been discussed a few times.

Last edited: Jul 8, 2009
  4. hoop

hoop

I have tried the search many different ways and still come up with nothing. I like the Jeep method sounds better than 605. Any pics or details on either way.

Fisrust likes this.

5. That Jeep idea sounds interesting, I got a buddy that works at a jeep store, have to see if he can dig one up to inspect it. I put a rack in a 99 taurus at work today, they are rear steer and it got me wondering about adapting it over, anyone tried anything similar?

Whats up Mark, hope all is well

Brad

6. Domino

Domino

7. phred_47

phred_47
    from usa