Register now to get rid of these ads!

Getting Started: 53 Chevy rear end swap

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by DeluxeGal, May 27, 2008.

1. DeluxeGal

DeluxeGal
    from Vagabond

I'm soon to be getting some progress going on my 210.

I'm changing the motor and trans from the stock 235 3spd to a 235 powerglide out of a '55.

I'm thinking that for this swap I need to change the rear end, because in '55 they had an open drive...

I did a little research on here to figure out what rear ends would work.. and I came across a good deal on a rear end with leaf springs out of a '57. I believe the '57 was running a 283 so I'm thinking that will work fine for my 235..

My question is a call for any good advice on this swap.
    This is my first time swapping a rear end.. so I'm wondering if there is anything else I will need.
    One of the things I'm wondering about is do I need the leaf springs from the '57.. I'm assuming yes.

The painless I can make this swap, the better.

Thanks in advance,
    Marissa

2. R Pope

R Pope

The '53 springs will work. You have to drill a new center bolt hole in the perch on the '57 rear end to center the rear in the wheel wells, due to the closed drive having a pivot setup that puts the rear end ahead of the center bolt. The '57 driveshaft should work, too.

3. Dat Dirty Rat

Dat Dirty Rat

4. DualQuad55

DualQuad55
    from NH

I chose to go with new springs from Posie's when I did the swap on the 54. It puts the center bolt in the correct location plus it dropped the rear a couple of inches. I went with all new hardware-Ubolts, shock mounts, shackles etc... Do it once, and be done with it.
    But if you are looking to save as much dough as possible and if the rear springs from the 57 are the same length, I would use them. Trying to drill the spring perches on the 57 housing can be a pain in the rear-getting them in the right location etc...

5. Mr48chev

Mr48chev
    ALLIANCE MEMBER