Register now to get rid of these ads!

Generator unwired

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 61bone, Apr 22, 2009.

  1. 61bone
    Joined: Feb 12, 2005
    Posts: 890

    61bone
    Member

    Got my tripower 389 set in the run stand and hooked up. Before I fire it, as no one has broched this subject before, will it damage the generator to run it without wiring it up to charge a battery? I know alternators don't like it but I just don't remember about generators.
    Thanks
     
  2. lostforawhile
    Joined: Mar 23, 2008
    Posts: 4,160

    lostforawhile
    Member

    why not just hook it to a battery to be safe?
     
  3. 61bone
    Joined: Feb 12, 2005
    Posts: 890

    61bone
    Member

    Because I don't want to go through all the hassle of wiring and polarizing a regulator and amp gauge for a one time deal.:)
     
  4. JohnEvans
    Joined: Apr 13, 2008
    Posts: 4,883

    JohnEvans
    Member
    from Phoenix AZ

    Won't hurt it for a few minutes. Way I understand you is you just want to test fire the engine for a short period?
     

  5. Rust Monkey
    Joined: Apr 9, 2009
    Posts: 75

    Rust Monkey
    Member

    Why not just pull the brushes out to prevent it from charging while it spins?
     
  6. DE SOTO
    Joined: Jan 20, 2006
    Posts: 3,857

    DE SOTO
    Member

    How about spending a few bucks and buy a different belt and eliminate the Generator ?

    You dont need it to test the engine & its much cheaper than repairing a Generator.
     
  7. tommy
    Joined: Mar 3, 2001
    Posts: 14,757

    tommy
    Member Emeritus

    I think you guys worry too much.:D It's a generator not a computer. I guess I've just driven too many miles with a faulty regulator and no place for the current to go to worry about it. Contrary to popular belief generators are pretty tough units that stood up to all of us dumb kids in the 50s. JMO
     
  8. 61bone
    Joined: Feb 12, 2005
    Posts: 890

    61bone
    Member

    Planning on breaking in the cam running the valves and doing a final tune. Back of the mind says it won't hurt. Just trying to get verification. Thanks guys.
     
  9. d2_willys
    Joined: Sep 8, 2007
    Posts: 4,165

    d2_willys
    Member
    from Kansas

    If the generator is not hooked up, it may try and output some current, but where is it going to go, no connection -current roadblock. Won't hurt it.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.