Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Gear vendors Clean 12 volts?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by chucksrodgarage, Jan 14, 2019.

  1. chucksrodgarage
    Joined: Apr 25, 2011
    Posts: 170

    chucksrodgarage
    Member
    from wisconsin

    Having a little frustration with a installation of a gear vendors control unit. It seems to be picking up a rfi signal and it thinks the car is moing when it is not. This shuts the unit down. Apparently coming in through the 12 volt power input.
    I connected it up to a seperate 12 volt battery and everything works great.
    I am a licensed electrician and worked a lot with control systems and whenever we had a problem with AC circuits we would put in a isolation transformer (24 volts to 24volts).
    You cannot use a transorter on DC voltage. Gear vendors sells a new style control unit that they say is better with rfi, but the price is $400.
    Any ideas?
     
  2. randydupree
    Joined: May 19, 2005
    Posts: 637

    randydupree
    Member
    from archer fl

    Take the belt off of the alternator and try it.
     
  3. chucksrodgarage
    Joined: Apr 25, 2011
    Posts: 170

    chucksrodgarage
    Member
    from wisconsin

    Yes. I thought about that, but I can't drive it without an alternator.
     
  4. squirrel likes this.
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. BJR
    Joined: Mar 11, 2005
    Posts: 5,857

    BJR
    Member

    Remove the belt and run without the alternator, like said above. If it works then, try a different alternator.
     
    squirrel likes this.
  6. Casey Riley
    Joined: Jun 27, 2018
    Posts: 404

    Casey Riley

    You can drive for quite a while without the alternator.
     
  7. chucksrodgarage
    Joined: Apr 25, 2011
    Posts: 170

    chucksrodgarage
    Member
    from wisconsin

    I hope it's not the alternator. I just put in a brand new tuff stuff 100 amp alternator before the gear vendors installation.
     
  8. chucksrodgarage
    Joined: Apr 25, 2011
    Posts: 170

    chucksrodgarage
    Member
    from wisconsin

    This might work as long as it doesn't share the ground with both sides.
    I already tried a powe converter 3-12 volts in and 12 volts out, but both sides share the same ground and the problem was still there. I'll look into the choke.
     
  9. sevenhills1952
    Joined: Mar 14, 2018
    Posts: 779

    sevenhills1952

    I don't know what the gear vendors unit looks like, but choke is a good idea.
    Depending on current draw, you may could try at the power source (battery, etc.) is a fuse in holder...then a choke, then shielded cable, ground shield there at the source. Then at the unit (is unit in a metal box?), power in, then ground cable shield there also, then electrolytic capacitor there to ground (ground---cap side), maybe 470 to 1000ufd @ 25V.

    Sent from my SM-S320VL using Tapatalk
     
  10. Budget36
    Joined: Nov 29, 2014
    Posts: 2,409

    Budget36
    BANNED

    I'm thinking a decent audio shop would have what you need.
     
  11. chubbie
    Joined: Jan 14, 2009
    Posts: 2,268

    chubbie
    Member

    Maybe try to unhook the wiring to the gear venders and just wire it direct with a toggle switch... plan to run mine that way
     
    samurai mike likes this.
  12. chucksrodgarage
    Joined: Apr 25, 2011
    Posts: 170

    chucksrodgarage
    Member
    from wisconsin

    The gv unit is a metal box. The system only draws 2 amps.
    I have it mounted in the lower part of my center console . I did try a shielded ground to the unit with no luck.
    I'm thinking the choke and capacitor may work.
    Thanks for your input.
     
  13. chucksrodgarage
    Joined: Apr 25, 2011
    Posts: 170

    chucksrodgarage
    Member
    from wisconsin

    Yes. That is an option, but I would like to use it for more automatic gear splitting.
    Got to keep atleast one hand on the steering wheel.
     
  14. squirrel
    Joined: Sep 23, 2004
    Posts: 43,702

    squirrel
    Member

    might get an oscilloscope on there and see what kind of electrical noise you're dealing with....it's easier to fix, if you can figure out the source
     
    firstinsteele likes this.
  15. Roger O'Dell
    Joined: Jan 21, 2008
    Posts: 1,048

    Roger O'Dell
    Member

    I have 4ea cars with the GV’s on one of them the controller failed , these units have been in the cars for a long time. When I replaced on with a new controller ,it didn’t work , called them and was told about the power, I was a a little ?? . But put a switch to interrupt power , fixed it. After the car is started and running it works fine, if the unit is left powered by the key , start the car and failure. A pain ,but livable.
     
    squirrel likes this.
  16. Flathead47
    Joined: Feb 13, 2011
    Posts: 10

    Flathead47
    Member
    from ontario

    I agree with Jim ... you need to measure the AC ripple on your 12 volt signal using a scope or good multimeter ... sounds like the filtering capacitors in the control unit may have started to fail ..... if electrolytic caps used , they do have a shelve life ... Flathead 47
     
  17. chucksrodgarage
    Joined: Apr 25, 2011
    Posts: 170

    chucksrodgarage
    Member
    from wisconsin

    Thanks sevenhills1952.
    Your post got me thinking.
    My battery is in the trunk only 2 feet away from the control unit.
    Tried wiring direct to battery through a ignition powered relay. PROBLEM SOLVED. Was apparently picking up rfi through wiring harnesses.
    Didn't need choke or shielding.
     
    Hnstray, squirrel and saltflats like this.
  18. BJR
    Joined: Mar 11, 2005
    Posts: 5,857

    BJR
    Member

    Thanks for posting the solution.
     
  19. chucksrodgarage
    Joined: Apr 25, 2011
    Posts: 170

    chucksrodgarage
    Member
    from wisconsin

    Bjr: That's what it's all about
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.