Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Gauges in a 32 dash with 30-31 gas tank

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by captain j, Mar 6, 2018.

  1. captain j
    Joined: Dec 21, 2008
    Posts: 125

    captain j
    Member

    I was wondering if anyone has used a 1932 dash with a stock 30-31 gas tank. The problem is I want to put gauges in the dash but not sure it it’ll clear in the back and hit the stock gas tank. This is in a 30-31 AV8 roadster. I know the smart thing to do is eliminate the gas tank but I would like to leave it and use it. Is there any sort of gauge cluster plate that would push the gauges out a little so it will clear the tank better? What have you guys done?
    Thanks.


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  2. The37Kid
    Joined: Apr 30, 2004
    Posts: 27,954

    The37Kid
    Member

    Stock '32 or the one Brookville makes? I could check my '30 to see if there is room. Bob
     
  3. You make or get a gauge panel that screws to the face of the dash and put spacers behind it. They actually make a little screw/bolt that will stand you panel out away from your dash. I got a bag of 'em they use em in the electronic industry. Mine are 10-32 and will stand if our about 3/8 or you can stack 'em.

    [​IMG]

    Mine are a little different than this but here's an example.
     
    nunattax likes this.
  4. sloppy jalopies
    Joined: Jun 29, 2015
    Posts: 4,654

    sloppy jalopies
    Member

    I have both, if you still need confirmation and or pix let me know... HIH.
     

  5. You could cut out the tank behind the gauges and weld in a dish shaped panel to provide room for the gauges.
     
    porknbeaner likes this.
  6. Tim
    Joined: Mar 2, 2001
    Posts: 12,269

    Tim
    Member
    from KCMO

    If you keep the big gauges in the middle where the stock divot is and mount your dash closer flish with the front of the dash rail I bet it’s possible with some effort.

    It would be very tight though
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2018
  7. captain j
    Joined: Dec 21, 2008
    Posts: 125

    captain j
    Member

    It’s a newer aftermarket, probably brookville


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  8. pitman
    Joined: May 14, 2006
    Posts: 5,041

    pitman

    I used a M/C tachometer, fit on the left side of the A tank divot. And a small dia. speedometer in ctr. LED's to light the backsides, much shallower depth reqd.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2018
  9. captain j
    Joined: Dec 21, 2008
    Posts: 125

    captain j
    Member

    I have a new set of classic instruments hot rod gauges.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.