Register now to get rid of these ads!

gas gauge reads full

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by big-vin, Jul 7, 2010.

  1. big-vin
    Joined: Mar 15, 2010
    Posts: 44

    big-vin
    Member

    i put in a new tank sending unit and fuel lines everything works but the gauge reads full when i turn the key on i ran a ground wire from one of the screws that hold the sending unit in to the frame any help would be great thanks vinny and i tried to do a search but didnt find to much
     
  2. garcoal
    Joined: Nov 15, 2006
    Posts: 277

    garcoal
    Member

    check your ground on the top of the tank that will mess with your reading on the gauge
     
  3. garcoal
    Joined: Nov 15, 2006
    Posts: 277

    garcoal
    Member

    ps did you reverse wires
     
  4. Slow55
    Joined: Sep 20, 2009
    Posts: 112

    Slow55
    Member

    On my chevy a "full" means an open circuit between guage and sender.
     

  5. Is the tank full? :p

    JH
     
  6. badshifter
    Joined: Apr 28, 2006
    Posts: 3,323

    badshifter
    Member

    What gauge? What sending unit? What voltage? Is it electronic or mechanical? How is it wired? You gotta give specific info to get a specific answer.
     
  7. stanlow69
    Joined: Feb 21, 2010
    Posts: 5,294

    stanlow69
    Member
    from red oak

    Mine read full for 7 years until changed the gas cap. Now it works fine. Yes I drove it all the time.
     
  8. Mockie
    Joined: Jun 13, 2006
    Posts: 173

    Mockie
    Member

    mine did same - 50 chevy, changed sending unit, top of old one had a short from sending unit wire to sending unit housing. Unit may have been good but after all the work of getting the tank drained and out was smart to put in new anyways.
     
  9. Vimtage Iron
    Joined: Feb 28, 2010
    Posts: 550

    Vimtage Iron
    Member

    Different tests for different style/types/voltage, for guages and senders, standard old Stuart Warner is disconnect the sending wire from ga and then ground ga terminal, if it goes to full ga is good, sender is shot, Chevy on the other hand won't test like that, there is a total different way to test sender and ga.
    As Badshifter said need to know more.
     
  10. 510madmav
    Joined: Dec 29, 2009
    Posts: 814

    510madmav

    bad voltage regulator. Its sticking.
     
  11. big-vin
    Joined: Mar 15, 2010
    Posts: 44

    big-vin
    Member

    sorry about the info its a 54 chevy 6 volt system chevs of the 40s replacement tank and sending unit that was the same as the old one one wire runs from the gauge to the sending unit and i added a gound from sending unit mount scew to the frame
     
  12. Piewagn
    Joined: Mar 25, 2009
    Posts: 1,201

    Piewagn
    Member


    Ding....ding....ding. Open in the circuit is my bet ( which will include a non exhistant ground ).
     
  13. 23 bucket-t
    Joined: Aug 27, 2005
    Posts: 1,366

    23 bucket-t
    Member

    my gas gauge is broken, i have to use a stick to check how much gas i have.
     
  14. waldo53
    Joined: Jan 26, 2010
    Posts: 861

    waldo53
    Member
    from ID

    Take the sender wire off at the tank (the one coming from the guage) and touch it to a good ground with ignition key on. The guage should read empty. Then, remove it from the ground and let it dangle in the breeze - guage should swing to full. If the guage works as described above, the guage and all wiring back to the tank is good and the problem is either a bad sender or a bad tank ground. If the guage doesn't work as it should, check the sender wire all the way back to the guage and make sure the guage case is grounded to the dash (you may have to sand some paint here and there to make it work)
     
  15. paintcan54
    Joined: Oct 27, 2007
    Posts: 1,100

    paintcan54
    Member


    My T-Bucket doesn't have a gauge, 6 gallon tank, 50 miles buy gas, simple.
     
  16. Labold
    Joined: Nov 1, 2007
    Posts: 1,219

    Labold
    Member

    My bet is on the ground (or lack of).
     
  17. With todays gas prices, I just wish mine read full :D
     
  18. sounds like ground issue.
     
  19. big-vin
    Joined: Mar 15, 2010
    Posts: 44

    big-vin
    Member

    thanks guys ill check it out
     
  20. red baron
    Joined: Jun 2, 2007
    Posts: 596

    red baron
    Member
    from o'side

    Or maybe the float is stuck in the "up" position?
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.