Register now to get rid of these ads!

FYI: Autolite spark plug manufacturing moved to China

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Buzznut, Aug 8, 2013.

1. Buzznut

Buzznut

I just bought two boxes of four Autolite 85 spark plugs. The first box I pre-gapped here at the counter at work, they all looked fine and gapped fine. The second box the spark plugs were distinctly different. The ground electrodes are coated with some glossy material and the ground electrode doesn't hover over the center electrode on 3 out of the 4 plugs...it sits about half way over the center electrode. I'm no engineer, but it seems this may cause a spark problem. The first box, which was fine, was Made in Mexico, the second box with the bad electrodes is Hecho en Chine...Made in China. The made in China box has the number 85 and barcode actually printed on the box, the Mexico versions have the number 85 and barcode stamped on the box after the fact. Both boxes also state where they are made on the back in fine print.

Just a heads up. If Autolite has moved manufacturing to China and this is the quality they will be offering, it may be time to switch brands.

2. Autolites have been crap ever since Ford sold them to Fram.....

3. Buzznut

Buzznut

It seems that quality parts are getting harder and harder to find. Are ANY plugs made in America?

4. Champions are

5. el Scotto

el Scotto
    from Tracy, CA

I love my NGKs. One of the only furrin' parts I actually buy!

6. Buzznut

Buzznut

I can't figure out why my NGK's fouled out in less than 300 miles.... I was told to go to Autolite's or Champions by a couple buddies with similar motors.

7. I tried NGK's in my flathead because everyone rants and raves over them. I've fowled 2 in the last 500 miles...

8. Want a good plug? Motorcraft.... but they're only available from a Ford dealer, won't be cheap, and they don't make them for everything anymore.