Register now to get rid of these ads!

full fendered 30 A on 32 chassis? Been done?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by FoxSpeed, Dec 4, 2012.

1. FoxSpeed

FoxSpeed
    from NorCal

I am a newbie when it comes to model A's. I have built fat fenders and a 56 ford truck, but no experience with the A's.

I recently bought a 30 2dr sedan. It is on a stock frame with all the stock stuff, engine, trans, etc. It does run and stop, I am going to remove the body and then sell the running chassis.

My first reaction to seeing a bare 32 chassis and a bare 30 chassis is the extra room the 32 affords. I have seen in my searches that a model A highboy on 32 chassis is done all the time. My question is that I would like to keep it full fendered. Can it be done and look right? I don't have the skills to channel the tudor so it would sit on the chassis's top railing. Would a Z on chassis help with the look and lower the car?

I hope these questions don't cause a bedlum of hysterics on someones part, just want to get a plan going.

Thanks, Gary

2. Bull

Bull

Why? If your plan is to go full fendered, keep the A on the A chassis.

3. It's been done but it takes a lot of fitting and fabrication you will most likely have to use '32 Front fenders and running boards along with the '32 frame.

Nothing wrong with a full fendered Model A. HRP

4. modelamotorhead

modelamotorhead

Stretched fenders,stretched hood, splash aprons, the list goes on and on due to increased wheelbase of the '32 frame.....

5. oldolds

oldolds

Use a model A frame. Why would you want to hide the pretty 32 frame with fenders. Just cut up the A frame where you need to.

6. rats28

rats28
    from Louisiana

^^^^^^ what they said

7. FoxSpeed

FoxSpeed
    from NorCal

okay, sounds like the consensus is using a model a chassis. Thanks

8. Garry Carter

Garry Carter