Register now to get rid of these ads!

front suspention

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Fifty1merc4door, Jan 24, 2013.

1. Fifty1merc4door

Fifty1merc4door
    from St louis

I have a 51 merc montery. i am at the very beginning of the rebuild i have the body off and sandblasted frame and painted so i am ready to start building so i will have alot of question cause this is my first build. soooo. a guy said i could use 90 areostar coils that sounds good but does anyone know what spindles are direct bolt on for the stock a arms. any help would be great. i havnt learned how to find things on this site yet.
    Thanks guys
    scott

2. I am probably mistaken but I think that the Merc has a king pin suspension and has uprights instead of spindles. IE no ball joints.

I think you can get dropped uprights for it from fatman's or the like.

if it is disc brakes that you are after (beyond me why) I am sure that someone makes a kit to adapt discs to it.

3. Steadfast mfg

Steadfast mfg

I believe Jam Co makes a bolt on disc brake convervision kit for shoebox Fords and Mercurys.

4. Thunderroad312

Thunderroad312

Areostar coils work well on shoebox Fords, but the Merc is heavier. It might work, might not. Also the Merc uses a king-pin front end, so there are no oem bolt on later spindles for discs etc. There are some aftermarket suppliers for that type of thing.

5. Mr48chev

Mr48chev
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

P-n-B would be correct on that one. No direct bolt on disk brake spindle but you can get the dropped uprights from several sources and one of our own may do a disk brake setup for those and he usually perks up when there is a Merc thread on here.

6. If you are going springs and dropped uprights you may as well just reverse the uprights. That is good for about 3-4" as I recall a ton on an old merc.

7. Fifty1merc4door

Fifty1merc4door
    from St louis