Register now to get rid of these ads!

Customs Front Axle Identification

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Rubrmat, May 17, 2018.

1. Rubrmat

Rubrmat

Lakester3.JPG Lakester2.JPG Lakester1.JPG Can anyone identify this front axle for me? This is on a Lakester that is supposed to be a '27 Ford with a '37 V8-60. Since this project, naturally, is a hodgepodge of parts, I am having issues with finding the front hubs, backing plates, etc. We did have these parts but after sending them out they "went missing". Hoping to find another set but things are looking grim!

Existing spindles measure:
    Backing plate bolt pattern- 3-1/4"Wx1-7/8"H
    Spindle OAL- 4-3/4"
    Spindle large bearing diameter- 1-3/16"
    Spindle small bearing diameter- 3/4"
    Spindle thread- 5/8"-18
    Spindle kingpin length- 5"

2. alchemy

alchemy

Looks like Willys to me.

X38 likes this.
  3. WTF really

WTF really

I'm new to this bit don't see anything ford there.

4. Fordors

Fordors

Agreed^^^

RonaldR likes this.

5. Fordors

Fordors

See that tag riveted on the left frame rail just in front of the spring shackle? Looks like it has 77 stamped on it, I believe that is the serial number plate location for a Model 77 Willys , the 77's were produced from 1933-1936. What else is stamped on that tag?

6. Atwater Mike

Atwater Mike

Willys 77, 'I' beam center bar, solid rounds on the ends.
    Body looks more like a '29, and that's an 'A'.

Last edited: May 24, 2018
  7. Rubrmat

Rubrmat

Great everyone! This is looking promising. Now it will just be a matter of finding the appropriate hubs and backing plates. Thanks again!

8. Rubrmat

Rubrmat