Register now to get rid of these ads!

Frenched Headlights for the 49-52 Chevy

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by stickylifter, Jun 2, 2008.

1. I'm trying to keep a late 40s - early 50s feel to this car. I studied some early Barris and Westergard cars and decided that frenching the stock headlight rings would give me the "bullet look" I wanted.

Rather than flip the old clutch head screws and old clips, I thought I'd just weld some bolts to the bucket so I could remove the buckets easier. The first thing was to drill some holes through the buckets and the fenders so the holes would line up when I flipped the buckets. NOTE: If I had it to do over, I'd just drill out 4 of the stock holes and re-use them. I had a few clearance issues with the holes I made. Plus, I'd have less holes that way.

Next, I shaved off the lip of the headlight buckets so they'd seat right up against the fender and hammered down any high spots.

Attached Files:

2. My long-time hetero project parner Kevin (a.k.a. MercMan1951) was good enough to help me out once again. We cleaned up the area around the fender opening in preparation for welding. To get in the little nooks and crannies, Kevin showed me a bodywork-ninja secret: the sanding star. It's great in the crannies, and the deadly art of the assassin.

At this point we hit a snag. We started roughing up the stock trim ring (which I thought was supposed to be stainless ?) and it was brass or something. The "chrome" sanded off and it was a gold colored metal underneath. When I tried to tack it to the car, it wouldn't weld either. SO, NOW WHAT?

Well, Kevin has a 51 Merc and he is going to use a Winfield style headlight treatment, so he offered up his stock 51 bezels. We tried the Winfield ones on for kicks too. So the pics of the bezels are as follows: '51 Merc, '50 Chevy, 52 Ford (light green one - Winfield style).

Attached Files:

3. ...is there more, is there more? good stuff, i just want to see the rest :D

-marty