Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Frame Cutting Advice

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by LeoH, Oct 13, 2015.

1. LeoH

LeoH
    from Reno, NV

Total newb to this process, but I have a 26' long truck that I'm considering lopping off 4' off the back of the flatbed. It's a standard C channel frame, although I couldn't tell you what gauge the frame is off the top of my head. It's probably an 8" wide frame iirc, maybe 6".
    What sort of cutting tool would I need to use to trim up the frame? Is there a tool that would cut as well as use a different disc for sanding on the body later for paint?

Is there a rule or guide to take in how close to the rear spring perch when doing this? This is a 2T truck and I figured if I left a foot of frame past the back spring perch and put in a cross brace there, that should be safe and smart.

Someone suggested doing a dovetail instead of a cut job, depending on my help, I might take this on. The goal though would be for a standard load carrying tail drop and not anything needing to support a full vehicle. I picture I would insert a box beam across the back and then drop the lower angled portion from that, if I did decide to go the dovetail route.

Thanks in advance for your comments and suggestions.

2. williebill

williebill

Depends on what tools you already have. Sawzall, or diegrinder would be my choice. I have used a hacksaw to cut up a frame in my younger days. That would work, it's just mild steel, and all it takes is time. In the little books, they always used a torch.

volvobrynk and LeoH like this.
  3. 73RR

73RR

I'll offer a couple of random thoughts....
    I'll suggest chopping up some photos to get a feel for the final proportions. Having the rear wheels too close to the rear will likely look a bit goofy.
    Having the rear axle too far aft will also throw off the weight carrying capacity as more of what ever you are carrying will shift to the front.