Register now to get rid of these ads!

Found in trash...

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Jax2A, Apr 17, 2011.

1. Jax2A

Jax2A

Ok just got this out of someone's trash tonight. Old oxygen tank turned in to an air pig. I can make out "OXYGEN" and "BREATH" in very faint stenciling on one end. It's non magnetic and light. Its 12" diameter and almost 24" long with bungs on each end. I'm pretty sure it's off a plane, can anyone tell me what kind and year?
    [​IMG]

2. 39 All Ford

39 All Ford
    from Benton AR

Stainless crew oxygen tank off a WWII era bomber. My dad had one we used for a portable air tank for years, but it got lost in a shuffle.

These were sold as surplus by the bazillions... :D

3. 72'Bourbon

72'Bourbon

Used for high altitude bomb raids, mostly in WWII. Standard U.S. Military issue, used in all bombers of the proper era's. Need any more info?? Lmk. I'm not an expert, but have done my homework on these.

4. jipp

jipp

iv seen them used as gas tanks.

5. gnichols

gnichols
    from Tampa, FL

Is there a DOD milspec number plate on it? That might help to track the date of mfg or contract.

PS What is a MILSPEC mouse? An elephant.

6. steel rebel

steel rebel
    Member Emeritus

Keep dumpster diving!

7. onekoolkat1950

onekoolkat1950

saw that tank for sale on ebay a couple weeks ago.guess it didn't sell so they trashed it.they make sweet post war style gas tanks.

8. silent rick

silent rick

anyone know how many gallons of gas they hold?

9. bb1970

bb1970

About 9 gallons + -. I filled one just like that one with water. Then poured it into a 5 gal. bucket to get an idea. It almost filled it twice.

Last edited: Aug 20, 2011
  10. Jimv

Jimv

Air Tanks usually don't make good fuel tanks, they're baffled all wrong.Same as air tanks on semi's the baffles are usually just plates with holes drilled thru them & that gives them support so they don't bulge out when full.
    JimV

11. propwash

propwash
    from Las Vegas