Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Forward Chopping a Post War Coupe?

Discussion in 'Traditional Customs' started by fortynut, May 15, 2014.

1. fortynut

fortynut

I started a thread about Three-Window Post War Ford Coupes, and the response was outstanding. There was a lot of positive feedback; and photographs of several completed cars were posted. As I studied the few examples that exist, it dawned on me there is a reason so few have been done: doing one properly requires a short-door donor coupe to create --- something in very short supply. On the other hand, and quite the reverse of the method most customs are done, another style chop I like, very much, is done on VW-Beatles, where the front is chopped more than the rear. With Bigs 'n Littles, and with a severe rake, a very pleasant profile is achieved. My question is this: Have any HAMBers done a chop like this on a Post-War Ford Coupe? And, are there any images of them? There are several 'how-to' posts elsewhere on the web for doing a Bug, and I think a '46-'48 Ford (Long Door) Coupe could be chopped using similar methods. Even so, I can't convince myself how it would look, other than being aggressive and possibly cartoon-like --- not really a bad thing, if you like 'different', which of course is one of the reasons for chopping a top. Any suggestions, examples, ideas, comments, or visuals will be appreciated. Carl

2. fortynut, I can't think of a coupe done this way off-hand - I am sure there are a few out there, but my thinking is that this style of chop would be better suited to a sedan since the VW body is more sedan-like than coupe-like. Jus' thinkin'.. It will be interesting to see what images show up here.

Dave

3. fortynut

fortynut