Register now to get rid of these ads!

Former/Current Car/Industrial Designers Out There?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Carnutofthedecade, Nov 11, 2008.

1. Inspired by Ryan's post this morning and a couple of the replies, I am curious..............

Any former or current car/industrial designers out there?

I studied Industrial Design with a major in Transportation Design at the Art Center College of Design in Los Angeles and later on in Pasadena California from February of 1975 through June of 1977.

Strother MacMinn, Harry Bradley, Joe Farrer, Old Joe Thompson, Keith Teter and of course Ted Youngkin were all instructors who taught me the ways and hows of "Good Design".

After several years, I ended up designing cars at Pininfarina in Italy (Ferraris, Alfa Romeos, Audi) in 1980, the first American there since the Mid-Sixties. Lot's of fun; they treated me like royalty! I ended up designing museums and trade shows when I was forced to close my business and end my career due to a disability 12 years ago.

2. the duke

the duke

I'm graduating in industrial design from the college for creative studies here in detroit, this spring. So I almost count, lots of art center guys here teaching.

brent

3. Would love to hear some stories from those guys...

4. ynottayblock

ynottayblock

Its funny I brought up this topic in the FAST group, since I noticed there are quite a few industrial designers here on the HAMB. I studied industrial design at humber college in Toronto with the intentions of going to CCS in detroit, but in the end I couldnt afford it (CCS) and ended up getting into designing sports equipment and really couldnt be happier. I always wondered why so many industrial designers are into traditional hot rods, since industrial designers are few and far between to begin with but we have quite a few on board here.

oh and carnutofthedecade I envy you for getting the chance to be taught by Harry Bradley, that guy is a hero of mine