Register now to get rid of these ads!

Ford Inline 6 254 Intake- 1950 FORD COE

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by billydkid, Sep 27, 2013.

1. billydkid

billydkid
    from Newark, CA

Folks-

I finally found a 1950 Ford COE :) This is my dream truck, just need some help to get her down the road....

The truck has an inline 6 254 with the following parts missing:
    Carb
    Water Pump
    Radiator

I am new to these engines and haven't had much luck finding parts. Any help with where and how much the Carb and Water Pump would be? I can source a new radiator... Can I use a Edlebrock 94's or Offy 97's?

Any input on performance improvements with an intake that can handle multiple carbs? Thanks for the HELP....

2. FrozenMerc

FrozenMerc

For the intake and water pump you will have to search the salvage yards, auction sites, HAMB, etc. A Holley 94 sould be the correct stock carb. Napa or Auto Value (or any parts store that carries alot of big truck stuff) may be able to get a water pump, but my guess is that without a core you won't be able to afford it. But it would be fun to see the expression on the face of some 17 yr old nose picker when you ask him to look up a water pump for a 1950 254 I-6 in a COE Ford.

For performance improvement, I would suggest a Ford 300 inline 6. You can spend cubic dollars on the flathead 6 and never get close to the performance, reliability, and availability of the 300. If you want to use the flathead, go for it, but it is fairly limited with little aftermarket support.

Good Luck and post pics.

Last edited: Sep 27, 2013
  3. FiddyFour

FiddyFour

i believe that the carb on those engines was a single bbl, not a two... you're looking for a holley 847 carb for that engine

4. FrozenMerc

FrozenMerc

Fiddy, Could very well be right, I don't have my Motor Manual in front of me on account of I am at work. I was hoping that the 6 would have been the same carb as the 8.