Register now to get rid of these ads!

Ford 8" Axle Removal Help...

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Brad S., Mar 9, 2008.

1. Brad S.

Brad S.

Last night I noticed a new noise coming from my rear passenger wheel. A little pop and grinding. It sounded like the bearing gave a little and the brake pads were making contact with the drums every now and then.

Jacked it up. Took off both wheels and hubs and checked them against each other. Drivers side has no play. Passenger side moves up and down. Damn.

This is a post '67 Ford 8" rear end. My understanding is that once the retaining bolts have been removed from the backing plate and housing, the axle should slide straight out.

I removed the nuts and bolts holding the axle to the housing. I've put a substantial amount of grunt behind it but I think I'm missing something.

Any hints from you guys that have done this before? I'm a noob at taking apart an axle.

2. pickleweasel_00

pickleweasel_00

Not sure if I've worked on 8" axles with retaining plates similar to the 9" before, but the 8" axles I have worked on require you to remove the differential cover. From there you need to remove a retaining pin in the middle of the carrier that sits between the two axles (a small bolt secures it at one end). Then you slide each axle in and remove the c-clip, and they should slide out of the housing

3. Brad S.

Brad S.

This is an 8" Ford pumpkin. No differential cover.

My understanding is that it doesn't have the retaining clip. It should just slide out. At least that's what I remember.

4. Sracecraft

Sracecraft

Brad,

Your correct, 4 backing plate bolts go thru the bearing retainer plate and housing end. The bearings fit snug in the axel tube, and rust and heat from the dead bearing can get them stuck.