Register now to get rid of these ads!

Ford 390 and FMX question..

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Hooligan63, Nov 14, 2009.

1. Hooligan63

Hooligan63

Okay,I'm not experienced with the 390/FMX combo,but I was wondering,does it use a kick down rod that connects from the carb to the side of the trans to control shifts at certain RPM's and downshift like the 390/C6 combo on later Fords utilize?

2. carzwy

carzwy

just a cast iron c6

3. Hooligan63

Hooligan63

I know GM's used them too,,that's why I was asking,because I know a few transmissions used them,but you're saying the FMX doesn't use that TV Rod? If that's what you're saying and you're 100% positive,then sweet,I won't have to go searching for one!

Also,anyone have one of those puke tanks laying around that they used on FE motors? The one that goes between the thermo housing and the radiator?

4. jetmek

jetmek

beg to differ here...fmx is basically an improved cruisomatic not a c6 and it does have a kickdown rod off the gas pedal

5. Alienbaby17

Alienbaby17

Mine has one.
    I have a '55 F100 with a 390 (out of a '63-64 Ford) with that transmission and I believe mine has that. I know I had to buy a special adapter to hook my Edlebrock carb. It's in storage or I would check for sure, but I'm 95% sure.

Jay

6. Hooligan63

Hooligan63

Then that means I might have to hunt for one...Uuuugh.

7. Hooligan63

Hooligan63

See,that's what I need,I need to see a picture of the set up.

8. Tony Ray

Tony Ray