Register now to get rid of these ads!

floor pan replacement question

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Gabriel Howard, Jan 25, 2009.

1. Gabriel Howard

Gabriel Howard
    from OKC
    1. Okie Hambers

i searched the tech section and wasnt able to find what i was looking for and since this is my first time to even attempt i thought i should find out what i am getting into.
    so i have all of the seats out & from what i have read online you basically place your new pans over the existing floor, outline them, cut out the old sections, and replace with new & weld....
    so when it comes to cutting out the old i have a few questions; will a grinder with a thin wheel work or do i need to invest in a new tool? if the grinder will work, what size wheel would be appropriate? second how worried should i be about cutting into something vital below the existing floor pans?
    is there anything else i should know before i dig into this?
    thanks

Attached Files:

2. metalinnovations

metalinnovations
    from mass.

It is not that bad of a project. You should check the cross braces for the body and also the inner and outer rockers too. A Cut off wheel in a electric grinder will work. You will also need to drill out the spot welds on the braces. There are a couple of way's that you can go about welding the pans in, first you can overlap the piece and drill some holes to plug weld. Second you could cut them out exact and butt weld them, this is the hardest way because if the metal is thin then you could end up with some blow outs. The best thing to remember is to go slow and measure everything. Also if you cut out around any bodymounts make sure that it does not sag. Good luck, Jon.

3. chevyshack

chevyshack