Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical flex plate and torque convertors.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by timwhit, Dec 30, 2017.

1. For you guys with lots of auto trans wisdom: I'm having to buy pieces to get the trans and engine married up. I didn't get a flex plate with the engine when I bought it so I bought one at O'reilly's. 168 tooth if IRC. It does work with the starter. I was going to stick the trans on the block today but checked a couple of things first and found the bolt pattern for the conv. to be smaller that the flex plate. The conv. pattern is 9 1/4 and the flex plate is right at 10". Also the bolt holes in the flex for the conv. are 1/2" holes and the holes in the conv. are 3/8" (7/16 won't go in the hole.) Can one of you steer me in the right direction. I have little knowledge in these. THANKS!!! Tim

2. squirrel

squirrel

How about a little more info on the converter? and the part number of the flex plate?

Sounds like a little converter, and a normal size flex plate...but does the flex plate have two different bolt patterns on it? some do, some don't

3. Jim: Thanks for responding. You are always a big help and give great, accurate advice. Her's some more info. The convertor came with the trans from the shop that built it. That's all I really know. The plate is a Pioneer product # FRA 113, pics included. Six holes in the plate but one pattern The tag on the conv. says th350hs with a date. Thanks. 011.JPG 012.JPG

4. BJR

BJR

Never seen a converter without threaded holes in it. With the setup you have if the pattern was correct you would need bolts and nuts to bolt it together.

5. Dave Friend

Dave Friend

Hi
    you need a flex plate with two hole patterns. Also I have had to drill the holes in the flex plate to the size of the holes in converter and use the right size capscrews and lock nuts.
    Regards
    Dave

timwhit likes this.
  6. Dave Friend

Dave Friend

you have not been around chevy's much