Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Flathead Mechanic Help in SW Virginia

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Michael Savela, Jul 9, 2020.

1. Michael Savela

Michael Savela

I've got a '50 Ford sedan, 239 V8, 3speed with OD I picked up a back in Sept. Been a blast so far. A few drives ago I got back and noticed the oil was WAY too high on the dipstick. I check before and after each run. Smelled of gas and the sediment bowl was low after a few minutes of sitting. Sure enough diaphragm busted. Drained oil, got a new pump and lines, got it installed. Fired it up and now I'm not sure if it's gunk in the carb or rod/crank bearings going bad but she won't idle right and has a considerable knock from what I think is the passenger side. Any chance there's a flathead guru near Lynchburg who might be able to help me diagnose for gas money and a cold one? I've done air cooled VWs, MGs, and the occasional SBC, but I'm just learning the world of flatheads and I'd sure like some help before I do damage, or worst case, do MORE damage by tinkering in the wrong direction.
    Thanks,
    Mike

2. choppedtudor

choppedtudor

if your oil pan was filling up with gasoline, your oil pump pushed that gas to the bearings...it's time for a rebuild buddy. sorry.

3. Michael Savela

Michael Savela

Building a house and workshop simultaneously that's just not in the budget. Might as well just sell her at that point. Any chance I can replace the rod and crank bearings by dropping the pan? She's been running like a top until this happened.

4. F-ONE

F-ONE
    from Alabama

Yes you can do a in chassis overhaul. It was quite common way back when, to break one down Friday afternoon and button up by the wee hours of Monday morning, ready for that trip to work.

In this case it may be a good option for you.

My advice though, is not to do that quite yet.
    Do some diagnostics first.
    Drain it....put some good 20wt oil in it. Valvoline 20W-50 VR1 comes to mind.