Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Flathead Ford Two sending units one Gauge will it work?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Raunchy, Dec 22, 2018.

  1. Raunchy
    Joined: Apr 16, 2007
    Posts: 357

    Raunchy
    Member

    On a flathead Ford V8 since there are two separate water systems a lot of people run two temp. gauges. Would it be possible to run through a switch and have two electric sending units wired into one gauge? I don't have anything but mechanical temp gauges and I am not that familiar with electric. I don't think I have ever even wired an electric one in. It would be on a blown flathead with an alternator and serpentine belts so I an not worried about the period correct thing running an electric gauge. I am thinking there might be feedback from one side to the other.
     
  2. TrailerTrashToo
    Joined: Jun 20, 2018
    Posts: 270

    TrailerTrashToo
    Member

    Yes, if the electric senders both electrically match the electric gauge chosen. A single pole, double throw (SPST) toggle switch works for this situation (only one sender is connected to the gauge at a time, so there is no "feedback").
     
    stillrunners, Hnstray and Truck64 like this.
  3. Raunchy
    Joined: Apr 16, 2007
    Posts: 357

    Raunchy
    Member

    Well that was easy enough. Thanks
     
  4. Dick Stevens
    Joined: Aug 7, 2012
    Posts: 2,466

    Dick Stevens
    Member

    I guess I don't understand why you wouldn't want to have 2 seperate gauges so you can see at a glance what the temp is on both sides instead of having to switch it to see?
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. Raunchy
    Joined: Apr 16, 2007
    Posts: 357

    Raunchy
    Member

    The gauge panel I want to run doesn't have enough holes.
     
  6. That's is exactly what I did.
    Mounted the switch behind the gauge. IMG_20150902_161342.jpg
     
    Texas Webb and Hnstray like this.
  7. Raunchy
    Joined: Apr 16, 2007
    Posts: 357

    Raunchy
    Member

    Thanks for the picture. If the dash is installed is the switch easy to reach there?
     
  8. Yes it works well. I did one for a customer like that last year. The gauge package he wanted to use only had one temp gauge so I ordered another sending unit and wired it all together with a switch to have the gauge reading only one sending unit at a time.
     
    Raunchy likes this.
  9. The 39 guy
    Joined: Nov 5, 2010
    Posts: 2,581

    The 39 guy
    Member

    i wired mine as Trailer Trash Too suggested. It has worked trouble free for three years.
     
    Raunchy likes this.
  10. BamaMav
    Joined: Jun 19, 2011
    Posts: 2,870

    BamaMav
    Member
    from Berry, AL

    I seem to remember a pic of a gauge that had two needles, one for each side. If you could find one of those dual gauges you wouldn't need a switch, you could see both at the same time....
     
  11. Slopok
    Joined: Jan 30, 2012
    Posts: 2,171

    Slopok
    Member

    Henry used only one gauge, was he wrong?
     
  12. Mike51Merc
    Joined: Dec 5, 2008
    Posts: 3,771

    Mike51Merc
    Member

    Don't ask me, I'm running dual mechanicals.
     
  13. phoneman
    Joined: Dec 5, 2010
    Posts: 48

    phoneman
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Missouri

    The way Henry did it one sending unit was basically a switch that completed the circuit to the other normal sending unit. If the switch side activated the circuit went open and the gauge went to full hot.
     
    stillrunners likes this.
  14. knucklenutz
    Joined: Jan 4, 2009
    Posts: 55

    knucklenutz
    Member

    I recently stared my blown Flathead for the first time. The blower is a H&H S.C.oT . The driver side pump pulley did not have enough of a belt wrap around. After two miles of driving, the second gauge told the tale and prevented possible failure.
     
    Raunchy and stillrunners like this.
  15. tubman
    Joined: May 16, 2007
    Posts: 3,992

    tubman
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Do you mean like this :
    WM-DUALTP (2).jpg

    They were usually used on two cylinder snowmobile engines. I've been looking for one for a while now, but the only ones I have found measure exhaust temperature, not water temperature.
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2018
    stillrunners likes this.
  16. Chappy444
    Joined: Jan 27, 2012
    Posts: 714

    Chappy444
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    1. Maryland HAMBers

  17. Andy
    Joined: Nov 17, 2002
    Posts: 4,384

    Andy
    Member

    I wired my flathead with two senders and one gauge. I was surprised that there was a lag when switching senders. It took a little time for the new sender to read right. Worked fine.
     
    Raunchy likes this.

  18. Yup, just put hand under dash, click to either side.
     
    Raunchy likes this.
  19. tubman
    Joined: May 16, 2007
    Posts: 3,992

    tubman
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Wow! Westach wants $122 for a dual gauge. I know it won't be much help to the O/P, but I'd look in a snowmobile Salvage Yard (yes, we do have them in Minnesota).
     
    Raunchy and stillrunners like this.
  20. Raunchy
    Joined: Apr 16, 2007
    Posts: 357

    Raunchy
    Member

    Thanks for all the ideas and opinions. I will go with the switch idea. It will work for me.

     
  21. Raunchy
    Joined: Apr 16, 2007
    Posts: 357

    Raunchy
    Member

    I never knew this all the motors I have pulled and dealt with had been hacked on before I got to them.
     
  22. Sheep Dip
    Joined: Dec 29, 2010
    Posts: 1,569

    Sheep Dip
    Member
    from Central Ca

    As stated SPDT switch with 2 senders, I did it on my Flattie and also used a SPDT switch for high and low beam headlight relay trigger. One suggestion is to mount the toggle sideways so it's easier to remember what side your reading.
     
    Raunchy and stillrunners like this.
  23. porknbeaner
    Joined: Sep 12, 2003
    Posts: 40,918

    porknbeaner
    Member

    Yes it would be totally possible with electric gauges. Use a 3 position switch closed open closed. Run each sender to a closed position on the switch, open no gauges closed #1 activates the #1 head and closed #2 activates the #2 head (or #1 and #2 senders if you prefer.)..
     
    Raunchy likes this.
  24. Thanks for all the reply's....kinda was my thoughts on the approach to monitor both the banks of my flattie......
     
    Raunchy likes this.

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.