Register now to get rid of these ads!

Flathead distributor help

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Hot Rod Brando, Nov 30, 2010.

1. Im not good at searching these things so if this is posted somewhere else, I appologize!

I have a nicely warmed up flathead that I would like to replace the original crab distributor with a Mallory. either dual point or electronic. Not decided yet.

My question is how do you go about this? I can't find any good info in a book. Can somoene detail to me the swap of distributors? I think it's fairly simple but then again, I could be way off!

Quick on the flattie: 53 block with early style set up. original Edmunds 2 2's. shaved Edelbrock heads, merc crank. Winfield SU2 cam (new ground from an original) sits in a 32 Ford, set up like a classy old salt car...

Thanks for the help!

Brandon

2. GMC BUBBA

GMC BUBBA
    Member Emeritus

WWW.BUBBASHOTRODSHOP.COM

Depends on what ya are looking for we have them all, vertex magneto, old school mallorys and chevrolet conversion high energy units......

3. Looking for something a little more modern than the original and really just the process to swap it.

4. flthd

flthd

Just a heads up,Ive read the new mallorys dont work well,sumthin to look into.

5. Hot Rod Brando
    Call Bubba ...He has all kinds if Dizzy's..
    I just showed you the great work he did on mine.

Call him, he can advise ,,he is good people,,,,,

6. LjH

LjH

If you have the setup used thru 1948 I believe it is "plug and play" as the drive gear is already on your cam. The engine in my 41PU let go before I could install the electronic Mallory I bought so I have a new in the box never installed unit that I do not need. PM me if you want it. Looking for headers for the 8BA I am putting in the project.

7. Diavolo

Diavolo

Bubba gets another vote. He can make anything you want apparently...

8. Bruce Lancaster

Bruce Lancaster
    Member Emeritus