Register now to get rid of these ads!

Flathead Bearing Availability

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by MN Falcon, Jun 18, 2009.

1. MN Falcon

MN Falcon

I am going to build a 59A flathead for my '46 Ford pickup. I am going to go look at an 8BA crank tomorrow for it. I was wondering what the largest bearings they made for the mains on the 59A (I read that you still need the mains for the 59A because the thrust bearing is different) and the rods for the 8BA?

I assume you can get .030, does anyone know different? Thanks

2. 31ACoupe

31ACoupe

I believe 30 is doable but I never was able to find anything more when I was looking for .40 mains. That was a couple years ago.

3. Straightpipes

Straightpipes

Curious, why do you want to use an 8BA crank? Is it a 4"?

4. hotrod8

hotrod8

check out flatheadjack ..........

5. 50shoe

50shoe

6. MN Falcon

MN Falcon

I don't want to deal with the floater bearings, I have no experience with them, they just sound like a lot of extra work to get them fitted correctly. There is a good chance that it is a 4", but if he will sell it cheap enough I will take the Ford. It is still in the block so it will have the rods as well.

Thanks for the advice so far. I checked FH Jack and EGGE and it looks like .030 it is.

Last edited: Jun 18, 2009
  7. Jimmy2car

Jimmy2car
    from No. Cal

I have a new catalog from Job Lot in New York. They list mains up to .060 for about $90.00

8. Bearing Burner

Bearing Burner
    from W. MA

FM listed them for .050 under in old catalogue never saw any though.,

9. krooser

krooser

Fitted? Mic the crank...mic the bearings and polish the crank to size. Nothing different than any other bearing set.

10. MN Falcon

MN Falcon

http://jalopyjournal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=64318&highlight=fitting+full+floating+bearings

http://www.btc-bci.com/~billben/bearing.htm