Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects First time knuckle bruiser

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by J DE LUXE, Jan 23, 2011.

1. J DE LUXE

J DE LUXE
    from Oklahoma

I'm still a newbie working with old cars but the love is old. So here's a documentation of my project for the other newbies and whom ever wants to read it. When I bought the car I wanted to do so much but didn't have the know how or as much of time as I wanted. Finally a break thru after reading many many threads and asking all kinds of stupid questions I accomplished a task which seemed big and overwhelming to me. I wanted Dual intake, split exhaust running to lake pipes and to clean the engine compartment up a little. I wanted to make it my own. I bought stuff little by little until I had everything. It took me about 7 months to get all the parts up, searching for the best deals and look for my 1959 235 inline 6. Heres a before picture.
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 23, 2011
  2. NCKalex

NCKalex
    from Fresno, CA

3. J DE LUXE

J DE LUXE
    from Oklahoma

I started with the Fenton headers first. My big idea wast to keep the original single intake on and just install the split exhaust headers so that I could throw the lake pipes on. Good idea at first until the throttle linkage didn't fit because of the Fentons. So I got bright real quit and flipped the linkage assembly around so that the throttle rod would pass thru the Fentons freely.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

But the throttle rod still couldn't reach the carb. Soo, I just stood in the middle of my work shop looking around at all the miscellaneous junk and decided the only thing I had was some old budweiser can openers. They worked after a little tinkering.

[​IMG]

4. J DE LUXE

J DE LUXE
    from Oklahoma