Register now to get rid of these ads!

first project and overwhelmed

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by gsport, Oct 5, 2010.

1. gsport

gsport

i've been working on my 50' for about six months by myself.. when i retired a couple of years ago i decided i wanted to re-do a car my way. first off i knew i wanted a V8 so i've already changed out the rear, got a M2 front, homemade trans cross member installed. i've got a firewall mount master cylinder and brake pedal and an ididit column to still be put in. last night i completely striped out the dash... anyway, you guys working alone on your cars, do you ever feel overwhelmed? this is my first project and there's days i feel i'll never get it back on the road....

2. poofus1929

poofus1929
    from So Cal

I think we all get overwhelmed sometimes. I am building my car from the ground up. My advice is, When you start to feel overwhelmed it's time to stop, Put the tools down, Pull up a chair a crack a beer, Relax and look at your project and imagine how it will be when your done. It helps you to calm down and realize it can be done. It takes a lot of patience and time but you will get it done.

3. 73super

73super

I've gone thru the exact same thing with my '49. You do get overwhelmed.. you look at it and say "is this thing EVER going to be on the road"... that's normal. I'm doing it all.. and to make it worse (or better depending on how you look at projects), I've got another project sitting right next to it that needs to be done too.

The trick is not to be in a hurry. Set a deadline (realistic) for yourself and work towards that. Take it A PIECE AT A TIME.., and if you don't make your deadline.. then set another one a little farther out. Main thing is to just keep moving forward. It will eventually get done and will be on the road.