Register now to get rid of these ads!

First car

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Wat_Tyler, Apr 11, 2012.

1. Wat_Tyler

Wat_Tyler
    from right here

Okay, the Old Car bug has bitten me again, after a very long hiatus. I am nearing being in a position to be able to get something interesting to drive. My background is more toward restoration, but hotrods (proper ones) have always had an allure which has drawn me.

I am thinking about a couple of different things. I'd like something gangster era, and maybe not run-of-the-mill, although a Ford does have an awful lot of admitted advantages. I have always like the 40's-era torpedo bodies. And I really like '55-56 Chryslers and DeSotoes. I realize that each has its own pros and cons. I'm thinking maybe a driver for starters would be nice, so I could park the truck of an evening and crank up something that everyone doesn't have a clone of, or will. Then there is also the idea that one car may not fill the entire bill, that a second would be required in another year or two.

So, the question is, were you in a position to buy a first car, like a middle-aged kid, the big kid in my shoes, what would you get?

2. partsdawg

partsdawg
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Minnesota

This may sound odd but I believe the dash has a lot to say in the decision.
    When driving what do you see the whole time? The dash...the gauge cluster.

3. pasadenahotrod

pasadenahotrod
    from Texas

Best thing for you to do is get to a good event like the Roundup in Austin THIS weekend. Plenty of guys willing to give a ride to a potential returnee to the old car world.

4. Wat_Tyler

Wat_Tyler
    from right here

I was thinking hood/hood ornament. Or motometer. But you do bring up a point.

Which would be a nice thought, save for all of the real estate that separates me from Tejas. But attending some shows is a good idea. I have done a bit of scouting.

5. Rusty O'Toole

Rusty O'Toole