Register now to get rid of these ads!

finally getting started on the buick

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by nocoastsaint, Jan 30, 2006.

1. nocoastsaint

nocoastsaint

Hello HAMB,

I am finally getting started on my 1954 buick special. My great-grandfather bought the car new and it was parked in 1963 bcause reverse went out. My current plan, and first task is a modern front clip and rear axle. I have an S-10 front clip and rear end that my uncle gave me. I am a decent welder and have access to a nice lincoln wire-feed. Does anyone have any experiance with such things? Does anyone have a better suggestion? Any help or advice is appriciated.

Thank you,
    nocoastsaint.

2. yorgatron

yorgatron
    Member Emeritus

3. fatassbuick

fatassbuick

I drove my first '53 around for two years without reverse. You just have to learn how to park creatively.

4. My vote for, ...don't mess with it.... ooohh, sorry..there is no voting !? :eek: :D :D :D
    / primerkid

Attached Files:

5. zman

zman
    from Garner, NC

Just fix the damn transmission and drive it....

6. No_Respect

No_Respect
    from So-Cal

Why would you have to change out the front end components? dont fix it unless you need to. the stock front and rear are very good components not to mention they were designed for that vehicle. Its alot more fun crusin in a custom or hot rod then it is workin on them ecspecially when they dont need a hole frame off rebuild Just my .02

Jared
    No Respect
    Hot Rods

7. STOPPP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!