Register now to get rid of these ads!

Fat Mat installation tips?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Rocket88, Jan 23, 2013.

1. Rocket88

Rocket88

After driving my car for the first time this summer, I quickly discovered the importance of floor insulation.
    It's like driving a Libby's bean can on a barbecue!
    After researching some older posts, I decided on Fat Mat.
    I bought the 100 sq. foot kit, that includes a little wooden roller.
    I want to do the firewall and the floor with 2 layers.
    I've never used this stuff before, any tips or tricks to make the installation go smooth?

2. 26 roadster

26 roadster

Don't try to do it all in one piece! be smart with your cuts

3. 40Standard

40Standard
    from Indy

4. chaos10meter

chaos10meter
    from PA.

I use contact cement to install it.
    Pre cut your pcs. to fit.
    Smear floor/ firewall what ever with contact cement, then smear it on insulation.
    While still wet ( I don't let them set up like you are supposed to) I place in position and move around to position, then roll/press them out.
    Not saying it's the proper or best way, it's just the way we do it.

5. 1arock

1arock

I've used Fat Mat on several projects and really like the stuff,especially for the price. It is self adhesive, cut it to fit before removing the backing, it is does not stick over dirt or oily surfaces. I mostly have used it on bare steel or freshly painted stuff. Roll all the bubbles out of it or when it heats up the bubbles will grow. Sometimes I have poked a little hole to get it to roll out smooth, small pieces seem to be easier to place and it sticks to itself really well.

6. Laphroaig63

Laphroaig63

Gloves for sure, sharp blades, screwdriver handle (those little wooden rollers suck) and a heat gun!

Warming up the pieces helps get it around the contours on the floor and gets the adhesive sticky.