Register now to get rid of these ads!

falcon/comet fuse box..help

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by oddrod46, Nov 17, 2006.

  1. oddrod46
    Joined: May 25, 2005
    Posts: 1,027

    oddrod46
    Member
    from Georgia

    How int he hell do I get to that fusebox on my girls 63 comet. it feels like it has about 4 fuses in it and i need to get to where i can check them and put them back in how do you do it ?Iknow there is a way!
     
  2. FORD FAN
    Joined: Feb 17, 2003
    Posts: 203

    FORD FAN
    Member


    You're right there are very few fuses. Located under the drivers side kick panel. I use the point of a test light to gently remove them. Also you can unbolt the panel to gain better access. It should have 2 screws.
     
  3. guiseart
    Joined: Apr 7, 2005
    Posts: 3,872

    guiseart
    Member

    yep... or stand on your head, stick your tongue out slightly to the left, while holding a minature flashlight in your mouth, and pry them out with an icepick.
     
  4. Merlin
    Joined: Apr 9, 2005
    Posts: 2,546

    Merlin
    Member
    from Inman, SC

    If you can ,Turn the key on and use the test light to check the fuses.
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. Powerband
    Joined: Nov 10, 2004
    Posts: 542

    Powerband

    ? - This is news to me.

    As far as I'v seen, The 60-65 Falcon/Comets have the fusebox attached to the bottom of the headlight switch. To service you reach up under the dash and press the switch shaft release button on the inner side of the switch , then unscrew the dash bezel/retainer and the whole switch and fusebox comes out. Better to do this with the batt'y disconnected or learn how to weld inadvertently.

    Powerband :cool:
    [​IMG]
     
  6. powerband is right, theres no kick panel fuse box there unless someone added it on
     
  7. Barn-core
    Joined: Jan 26, 2004
    Posts: 946

    Barn-core
    Member

    I've always stuck my head under the dash, put my legs over the back of the seat, and stood on my head, seriously!
     
  8. butch27
    Joined: Dec 10, 2004
    Posts: 2,810

    butch27
    Member

    Right with the light switch behind dash..See above item
     
  9. shortyforty
    Joined: Nov 4, 2006
    Posts: 57

    shortyforty
    Member
    from NH

    I just bought a new light switch for the 63 Falcon and noticed it has 2 clips that hold the fuse/wire section to the switch section. You should be able to pop the spring clips and drop the fuse/wire section down without removing the whole assembly from the dash.
     
  10. andykatona
    Joined: Mar 24, 2014
    Posts: 1

    andykatona
    Member

    I just changed mine 63 comet. Had to finesse the release button a while before headlight knob would release. What sadist engineer designed that setup, never seen one quite like it. I will relocate in future.
     
  11. 1971BB427
    Joined: Mar 6, 2010
    Posts: 5,538

    1971BB427
    Member
    from Oregon

    I tossed that whole POS headlight switch and fuse block. Rewired with a new wiring harness and fuse block so I could have it all out where it's easy to access and use plug in modern fuses. Amazing that back in the 60's when cars were really well built that Ford came up with such a lame setup for a fuse block!
     
  12. Mike51Merc
    Joined: Dec 5, 2008
    Posts: 3,814

    Mike51Merc
    Member

    Powerband is right. Spring clip and the fuse section removes.
     
  13. finn
    Joined: Jan 25, 2006
    Posts: 650

    finn
    Member

    It worked well considering the era and number of accessories available that required electricity. Remember that these were intended as cheap ass, entry level cars intended to compete with cheap ass Volkswagons and that ilk. Power windows? Cruise control? I don't think air conditioning was even available initially!

    By the mid 60's, the market moved and they got a "proper" fuse box, but even that is pretty sketchy by today's standards.

    I agree on installing an aftermarket kit. That's on my list.
     
  14. 65COMET
    Joined: Apr 10, 2007
    Posts: 3,086

    65COMET
    Member

    Ford/Mercury stopped that in 65,but like it has been said,it wasn't much better.finn nailed it to,those cars were cheap,entry level cars,not much need for big fuse panels yet as not too many electrical accessories were available!! ROY.
     
  15. hyperfe
    Joined: Jan 30, 2009
    Posts: 72

    hyperfe
    Member

    I just replaced the original Falcon fuse box with a very nice little box from Centech, these guys are Ford friendly. It worked out great.
     
  16. syxxstring
    Joined: Dec 30, 2010
    Posts: 37

    syxxstring
    Member

    How much time and cost is involved in gutting the wiring and starting over in these cars? It seems like it would solve a few headaches and provide some good fire insurance with 50 plus year old wiring.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.