Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Fabrication advice wanted

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Hunter page, Feb 17, 2022.

1. Hunter page

Hunter page

Hey, I’m new to this thread and the world of fabrication and feel I might be in a little over my head. I own a two door 1964 mercury comet and need advice on certain rust repairs. The quarter panels, (notably a around the wheel wells) have cancer and need to be fixed. To my knowledge there are no reproduction quarter panels made for my car. I have made several attempts to make my own patch panels but none to my satisfaction. Has anybody recreated these before and what will I need to recreate these panels myself?

Attached Files:

VANDENPLAS and catdad49 like this.
  2. kabinenroller

kabinenroller

Welcome fellow ‘64 Comet owner! You are correct, there are no reproduction panels made for quarter panel repair. My first suggestion would be to try and locate a donor car and cut out the parts that you need. The S.W. part of the country might have salvage yards that could possibly have what you need. Another route would be to have someone fabricate the panels, I know that the Comet has some unique body lines on the lower quarters that could be a challenge to duplicate but it is not impossible. Have you joined Comet Central? https://www.cometcentral.com it is one of the few forums dedicated to Comets, it has a very active bunch of members who are willing to help.
    Enjoy your Comet!
    Jim

catdad49 and loudbang like this.
  3. 6sally6

6sally6

How bout.....find another quarter that is 'close' to the Comet and graft it in?! (Falcon? Mustang? Shivel-lay?)
    6sally6

4. Mr48chev

Mr48chev
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

The "not an actual 64 Comet donor' thing might fly if it is intended to look like a drag car that ran in a class that allowed body mods like opening up the wheel openings.