Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical F100, y-block and trans

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by oldnuts, Oct 22, 2015.

  1. oldnuts
    Joined: Jan 14, 2009
    Posts: 355

    oldnuts
    Member
    from nebraska

    I've got a 63 f100 with a 292 and 3 speed. It's giving me grief and I have a spare 4 speed off of another 292 in my garage. Does anyone know if the 4 speed trans will fit directly in the truck in place of the 3 speed? Can I use the same bellhouse? Or do I need to swap them?
     
  2. y'sguy
    Joined: Feb 25, 2008
    Posts: 505

    y'sguy
    Member
    from Tulsa, OK

    I believe the 4 speed takes a different specific (4 speed) truck bellhousing. I just sold one cheap. Check on Slick60's.com website you'll get the right answer there and maybe find what you need also.
     
  3. Yeah, different bell. Dang, just sent one to the scrap yard.
     
  4. 4 speed will need a different clutch also.....drive shaft too,,
     

  5. oldnuts
    Joined: Jan 14, 2009
    Posts: 355

    oldnuts
    Member
    from nebraska

    Good looking out guys. I dug it out and did a bunch of measuring. I've got the complete tranny clutch to u joint. I'm gonna swap it out when I get a few spare days. I'll have to have a drive shaft made for it but it should be an easy swap. Thanks
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.