Register now to get rid of these ads!

F1 Steering Box In A '33 / '34 Ford Frame

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Candy-Man, Dec 30, 2012.

  1. Candy-Man
    Joined: Mar 21, 2006
    Posts: 1,709

    Candy-Man
    Member

    I had a few questions from Hot Rodders, how I was installing the F1 Ford Truck steering box in a customers '33 Ford Frame, so here are a few pic's which will explain it all. Just as a note, I first determined how long the steering "box" shaft had to be and before welding the flange to the steering box, I heated the box in order to prevent cracking during welding to the box. I didn't take any pic's, however; I use a few clamps to hold the column where I wished the column to be positioned in the cab, then I tacked the flange to the box (obviously on a slight angle).... Thanks....
     

    Attached Files:

    • 5.JPG
      5.JPG
      File size:
      64.8 KB
      Views:
      1,703
    • 6.JPG
      6.JPG
      File size:
      54.9 KB
      Views:
      696
    • 4.JPG
      4.JPG
      File size:
      67.2 KB
      Views:
      690
    • 3.JPG
      3.JPG
      File size:
      57.3 KB
      Views:
      961
    • 7.JPG
      7.JPG
      File size:
      67.1 KB
      Views:
      811
    • 8.JPG
      8.JPG
      File size:
      54.3 KB
      Views:
      758
    • 10.JPG
      10.JPG
      File size:
      67.4 KB
      Views:
      779
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2012
  2. Jeff Norwell
    Joined: Aug 20, 2003
    Posts: 12,968

    Jeff Norwell
    MODERATOR
    Staff Member

  3. Nice job!
    Looks like Speedy's truck?
     
  4. Jeff Norwell
    Joined: Aug 20, 2003
    Posts: 12,968

    Jeff Norwell
    MODERATOR
    Staff Member

    I believe it tis Fuxl.
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. NortonG
    Joined: Dec 26, 2003
    Posts: 2,117

    NortonG
    Member Emeritus

    Great work Neil!
     
  6. Very cool Candy-Man! Neat to see it all laid out and then tucked away in location.

    Fuxl, yes sir it's my truck. Good eye!
     
  7. ss34coupe
    Joined: May 13, 2007
    Posts: 4,108

    ss34coupe
    Member

    Thanks for the tech tip!
     
  8. is there going to be a seal?
     
  9. Candy-Man
    Joined: Mar 21, 2006
    Posts: 1,709

    Candy-Man
    Member

    There is no seal in a truck box, only a bushing, after cutting in the manner I did....
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2013
  10. alchemy
    Joined: Sep 27, 2002
    Posts: 15,527

    alchemy
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Are you sure there wasn't originally a felt seal or something? Can you add one? Other wise it WILL drip grease down the framerail.

    I have a felt seal in a '32 flange and it still seeps grease. Someday I'g going to take it apart again and bore it out for a rubber lip seal.
     
  11. Candy-Man
    Joined: Mar 21, 2006
    Posts: 1,709

    Candy-Man
    Member

    There is not a rubber seal, yes there is a "Felt" which you have related to, which is not much of a seal. I will be placing grease inside of the box, as there should not be "much" dripping onto the frame rail.

    Rope and felt seals were never much of a seal, as you have experienced....
     
  12. Candy-Man
    Joined: Mar 21, 2006
    Posts: 1,709

    Candy-Man
    Member

    Last edited: Jan 1, 2013
  13. Good stuff! Thanks for the tech!
     
  14. Uptown83
    Joined: Apr 23, 2007
    Posts: 722

    Uptown83
    Member

    Are you positive abou that seal? A guy just put a F1 box in a model a at work and was telling me he just needs to get a seal for it to complete it. I didnt do the work so I never questioned it. The 37 ford steering box in my garage takes a seal.
     
  15. thunderbirdesq
    Joined: Feb 15, 2006
    Posts: 6,817

    thunderbirdesq
    Member

    Last edited: Jan 1, 2013
  16. thunderbirdesq
    Joined: Feb 15, 2006
    Posts: 6,817

    thunderbirdesq
    Member

    Here's a pic of an empty F1 box with the old seal still installed.
     

    Attached Files:

    • f1.jpg
      f1.jpg
      File size:
      118.5 KB
      Views:
      291
  17. Candy-Man
    Joined: Mar 21, 2006
    Posts: 1,709

    Candy-Man
    Member

    Ha Ha, okay I am a ass...

    I should ahve explained myself clearly, which I did not. I cut the seal off of the box, as there is no longer a provision for the seal, as I do not like the box protruding threw the frame.

    I turn the steering shaft in my lathe, cutting a small grove, allowing a rubber "O-Ring" to be placed on the shaft, to form the seal on the bushing.... I missed explaining this !! Oh well..... :)
     
  18. thunderbirdesq
    Joined: Feb 15, 2006
    Posts: 6,817

    thunderbirdesq
    Member

    That makes more sense! The O-ring is a neat idea too. Nice tech!
     
  19. TexasSpeed
    Joined: Nov 2, 2009
    Posts: 4,617

    TexasSpeed
    Member

    Bookmarking this.. I'm about to take this endeavor on soon.

    Thanks, Neil!
     
  20. Candy-Man
    Joined: Mar 21, 2006
    Posts: 1,709

    Candy-Man
    Member

    Remember : You can shorten the shaft length and then re-weld the frame mount to the box as well....
     
  21. TexasSpeed
    Joined: Nov 2, 2009
    Posts: 4,617

    TexasSpeed
    Member

    That's what I plan to do. I will have to anyways, to center the wheel on the driver's side as well as clear the engine. I wonder if I could just cut the ears of the mounting surface off, grind it down until the end of the sleeve is round so I can retain the felt. Or is the felt not worth the trouble?

    No access to a lathe, so I can't machine in a relief for an O-ring seal.
     
  22. Candy-Man
    Joined: Mar 21, 2006
    Posts: 1,709

    Candy-Man
    Member

    Well it is all up to you. The box is filled with grease, so you would not lose too much oil if you did not have the seal and/or 'O' ring... Just my personal opinion, as I know others will disagree.

    As you mentioned, cut the mounting tabs/ears off the box and weld your mounting flange on the box. With this method, you would retain the relief for the seal..... You may have to hone the brass bearing slightly after welding on the box, before reassembly....
     
  23. TexasSpeed
    Joined: Nov 2, 2009
    Posts: 4,617

    TexasSpeed
    Member

    Awesome.. PM sent.
     
  24. NealinCA
    Joined: Dec 12, 2001
    Posts: 2,882

    NealinCA
    Member

    Here's how I do them. I trim the flange ears off with a cut off wheel, the machine the sector housing in the lathe. I then square it up on the frame and tack the new flange in place. I then take it out for finish welding. The bushings then are replaced and honed to fit the sector shaft using a sunnen pin hone.

    As far as lube...I don't think grease is a wise choice. It will wipe off of the worm and roller and not flow back...leading to metal to metal contact and eventually galling. If you do use grease, use an NLGI 00 semi fluid grease. That's your best bet for good lubrication but minimal leakage.

    That's my 3 cents.

    Neal

    Sent from my DROID device using the TJJ mobile app
     

    Attached Files:

  25. TexasSpeed
    Joined: Nov 2, 2009
    Posts: 4,617

    TexasSpeed
    Member

    Neal,

    That is exactly what I'm doing.. Minus the lathe part. :)

    Do you get your bearings and seals from Mac's?


    Posted from the TJJ App for iPhone & iPad
     
  26. NealinCA
    Joined: Dec 12, 2001
    Posts: 2,882

    NealinCA
    Member

    I get parts from Joblot in NY.

    Sent from my DROID device using the TJJ mobile app
     
  27. lorodz
    Joined: Jul 26, 2009
    Posts: 3,728

    lorodz
    Member

    I live here in n.y joblot has every part
    You need just did mine last summer there awsome and know there stuff
    Sent from my DROID device using the TJJ mobile app
     
  28. Great post very helpful, thank you
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.